Ingram Semifinalist For Walker Award

DALLAS, Texas - Alabama junior running back Mark Ingram (Flint, Mich.) is one of 10 semifinalists for the 2010 Doak Walker Award, presented by PricewaterhouseCoopers, the SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors announced Thursday.

Mark Ingram, who was a finalist for the award last season, is the only back representing the Southeastern Conference. The reigning Heisman Trophy winner has rushed for an Alabama team-high 641 yards on 106 carries and scored nine touchdowns. He is averaging 6.0 yards per carry and 91.6 yards on the ground per game.

Ingram continues to ascend in the Alabama career records. The junior currently ranks fourth all-time in the career annals with 3,027 rushing yards and is second in rushing touchdowns with 38. His 12 career 100-yard rushing games is tied for third at the Capstone.

The 175 members of the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will cast their votes to determine the 2010 finalists. On Monday, November 22, three finalists will be named live on ESPNU, and a second vote by the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will determine the recipient. The 2010 Doak Walker Award recipient will be announced live on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, December 9, on ESPN.

The Award is named after three-time SMU All-America running back and 1948 Heisman Trophy winner Doak Walker. Walker, who also punted, returned kicks and kicked extra points, led the Mustangs to two Southwest Conference Championships. He was drafted by the Detroit Lions and led the league in scoring his rookie year. During his six years with the Lions, he led the team to two NFL championships and was chosen All-Pro four times. Walker is a member of both the College and Pro Football Halls of Fame.

The semifinalists (in alphabetical order) are:

John Clay (Jr.) Wisconsin; Kendall Hunter (Sr.) Oklahoma State; Mark Ingram (Jr.) Alabama; LaMichael James (So.) Oregon; DeMarco Murray (Sr.) Oklahoma; Bilal Powell (Sr.) Louisville; Jacquizz Rodgers (Jr.) Oregon State; Vai Taua (Sr.) Nevada; Daniel Thomas (Sr.) Kansas State; Ed Wesley (So.) TCU.

BamaMag Top Stories