Ho-Hum, McElroy Up For Another Honor

Alabama quarterback Greg McElroy was selected as one of five finalists for the seventh annual Coach Wooden Citizenship Cup on Thursday. The award is given for the most outstanding role model among college athletes.

Alabama quarterback Greg McElroy, a senior and two-year starter from Southlake, Texas, has put together an impressive senior season both on the field and off. He is a finalist for the 21st William V. Campbell Trophy after being selected as a National Football Foundation National Scholar-Athlete. McElroy was a finalist for a Rhodes Scholarship and was selected as the ESPN/CoSIDA Academic All-American of the Year. He is also a finalist for the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award, which is given to the nation's top senior quarterback.

He is a four-time member of the SEC Academic Honor Roll and has qualified for the Dean's List four times and the President's List twice. One of The Sporting News' "20 Smartest Athletes," he was named Alabama's Outstanding Undergraduate Student in marketing and earned the Marketing Senior Gold Certificate.

On the field, McElroy has put together one of the best seasons for a quarterback in school history. His 2,767 yards is the second-highest single-season total at Alabama, while his 19 touchdown passes are the most by a Tide quarterback. He has thrown just 10 career interceptions in 641 pass attempts, which is the best interception percentage – one pick every 64.1 passes – in Southeastern Conference history.

McElroy was named Most Valuable Player of the 2009 SEC Championship Game in a 32-13 win over then-No. 1 Florida. He then went on to lead Alabama to the school's 13th national championship with a win over Texas in the BCS National Championship Game. He has a 23-3 record as a starter and currently ranks sixth nationally with a 166.94 pass efficiency rating in 2010.

In the community, McElroy has volunteered with Read Across America, Habitat for Humanity, the West Alabama Food Bank and Hospice of West Alabama. Since 2007, he has been a member of the university's Student-Athlete Advisory Committee and is also a member of the UA Athletics and Academics Committee.

The Wooden Cup is named in honor of John Wooden, one of the most successful coaches in collegiate history. Wooden's legacy as a person of integrity, high moral character, compassion, and civic-mindedness continues to make him one of the most admired coaches in the history of sport. The Cup recognizes those athletes whose character represents the highest and best in sport, and who make the greatest difference in the lives of others. Since it is open to all athletes, all sports, it is regarded as the highest award in all of college sports.

The recipient of the Coach Wooden Citizenship Cup is chosen by a screening committee, a national group of electors, and a committee chaired by Vincent Dooley, former University of Georgia athletic director, and other distinguished individuals involved in athletics across the country.

The 2010 Collegiate Wooden Cup recipient will be announced at the award ceremony on January 25 at the famed East Lake Golf Club in Atlanta. Finalists and semi-finalists for the collegiate division include:


Kimberly Reeves, Basketball, Agnes Scott College

Greg McElroy, Football, University of Alabama

Sarah Leyman, Basketball, Amherst College

Quinton Carter, Football, University of Oklahoma

Daniel Crawford, Football, Denison University


Kyle Adams, Football, Purdue University

Ann Armes, Volleyball, University of Kentucky

Erica Benford, Rowing, Ohio State University

Michele Dalton, Soccer, Univ. of Wisconsin

Elizabeth DeLouzier, Soccer, Oklahoma State University

Ryan Flanagan, Lacrosse, University of North Carolina

Barnabas Kirui, Cross Country, Univ. of Mississippi

Scott Krapf, Cross Country, Illinois State University

Brittany Macdonald, Soccer, University of Miami

Conor O'Rourke, Swimming and Diving, Wittenberg University

Chelsea Wilhoite, Volleyball, University of West Florida

Lexi Zimmerman, Volleyball, University of Michigan

BamaMag Top Stories