Bama SEC Legend Is Robert Horry

Former Alabama basketball star Robert Horry will be honored as a Southeastern Conference Legend when the SEC Basketball Tournament is held March 10-13 at the Georgia Dome in Atlanta. Former greats from each SEC school will be honored during the tournament.

Robert Horry helped lead Alabama to three SEC Tournament Championships and two NCAA Sweet 16 appearances in his four seasons in Crimson and White. Horry finished his illustrious career at The Capstone with 1,591 points, the 12th most in UA history, and is ninth all-time in rebounding with 929 boards. A complete player, Horry still ranks third all-time in steals at UA with 168 and is Alabama's all-time leader in blocks with 286.

Following his collegiate career, Horry went on to star in the NBA for 16 seasons and become one of the most decorated players in NBA history by helping three different franchises to seven World Championships, the most by any player since 1976. He earned the nicknames "Mr. Big Shot" and "Big Shot Bob" for his clutch long range shooting in NBA playoffs. Although he averaged only 7.5 points per game for his career, he has a place in NBA history.

"The SEC Basketball Legends Program allows us to honor our past and show everyone why the SEC is one of the nation's premier basketball conferences," said SEC Commissioner Mike Slive.

In addition to Horry, the 2011 class of legends includes George Kok, Arkansas; Jimmy Fibbe, Auburn; Craig Brown, Florida; Walter Daniels, Georgia; Kevin Grevey, Kentucky; Howard Carter, LSU; Bob Weltlich, Ole Miss; Darryl Wilson, Mississippi State; BJ McKie, South Carolina; Jimmy England, Tennessee and Jeff Turner, Vanderbilt.

Each SEC Basketball Legend will be recognized at halftime of his institution's first game at the tournament. As the number one seed from the Western Division, Alabama's first game will begin at 1 p.m. EST (noon central) Friday, March 11.

This marks the 13th year of the SEC Basketball Legends program.

Previous honorees for Alabama have been 1999 Reggie King, 2000 Wendell Hudson, 2001 T.R. Dunn, 2002 Leon Douglas, 2003 Buck Johnson, 2004 Derrick McKey, 2005 Gary Waites, 2006 Jim Farmer, 2007 Mike Nordholz, 2008 Leon Marlaire, 2009 Melvin Cheathum, and 2010 Charles Cleveland.

BamaMag Top Stories