Tide Women's Golf Dominates SEC

Alabama dominated Southeastern Conference women's golf honors as the league's coaches selected the All-SEC team and special award winners.

Alabama's Brooke Pancake, Stephanie Meadow and Coach Mic Potter along with Georgia's Marta Silva Zamora and Arkansas' Emily Tubert headline the 2011 Southeastern Conference Women's Golf Awards

Potter was voted among his peers as SEC Coach of the Year while Pancake earned SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year and Meadow was SEC Co-Freshman of the Year Zamora was voted SEC Golfer of the Year and Tubert was voted SEC Co-Freshman of the Year

Pancake, a junior from Chattanooga, Tenn , leads Bama with a 72 11 scoring average and is ranked sixth nationally in the latest Golfweek/Sagarin Performance Index Her scoring average is fourth in the SEC and best in school history A 4 0 grade point average student in marketing, she is a repeat recipient of the SEC Women's Golf Scholar-Athlete of the Year She was also selected for the NCAA Elite 88 at the 2010 NCAA Golf Championships as the participating player with the highest grade point average

Meadow, from Jordanstown, Northern Ireland, is fifth in the SEC in scoring average at 72 15 She won two tournaments in her freshman season and is ranked eighth in the latest Golfweek/Sagarin Performance Index Rankings

Potter helped direct the Crimson Tide to eight top three finishes in nine tournaments this year including four team championships Alabama is ranked third in the latest Golfweek/Sagarin Peformance Index Rankings and will be the top seed at the NCAA East Regionals at the LPGA International Course in Daytona Beach, Fla , May 5-7 The honor is the 12th conference Coach of the Year award for Potter and his third in the SEC

Joining Zamora, Pancake, Meadow and Tubert on the All-SEC first-team are LSU's Megan McChrystal, Tennessee's Erica Popson, Auburn's Cydney Clanton and Alabama's Camilla Lennarth

Jennifer Kirby of Alabama was on the second team

BamaMag Top Stories