Alabama Top Seed In SEC Tournament

The Southeastern Conference announced its 2011 Softball Tournament field Sunday with No. 6/5 Alabama claiming the No. 1 seed. The tournament will be hosted by the University of Mississippi at the Ole Miss Softball Complex, Thursday-Saturday in Oxford, Miss.

The entire tournament will be televised live on the ESPN family of networks. The three quarterfinal games and the semifinals will air on ESPNU, while the fourth quarterfinal game will air on ESPN2 and the championship game will air prime time on ESPN at 7 p.m. CDT Saturday.

Alabama clinched its second consecutive, third overall, SEC title with a 10-1 win over Ole Miss on Sunday and will make its 15th consecutive SEC Tournament appearance. Eastern Division champions, the Florida Gators, earned the No. 2 seed after a come from behind weekend to sweep Tennessee and clinched their fourth Eastern Division title. The Gators will also make their 15th consecutive SEC tournament appearance. Mississippi State returns to the tournament for the first time since 2008.

On Thursday, the No. 3 seed Tennessee Lady Vols (44-10, 20-8 SEC) will open up the tournament against No. 6 seed Kentucky (36-13, 14-9 SEC) at 11 a.m. CDT, followed by No. 2 seed Florida (47-8, 21-7 SEC) and No. 7 seed Auburn at 1:30 p.m. The evening session will feature No. 4 LSU (38-15, 19-9 SEC) vs. No. 5 seed Georgia (44-10, 17-9 SEC) at 4 p.m. (CT) and the No. 1 seed Alabama (45-7, 19-6 SEC) will take on No. 8 seed Mississippi State (24-31, 10-18 SEC) in the nightcap at 7 p.m.

The championship game can also be heard live on XM radio. The channel will be announced Monday. Tickets for the single-elimination tournament can be purchased through the Ole Miss Athletic Ticket Office by visiting

2011 Tournament Bracket


Game 1: #3 Tennessee vs. #6 Kentucky (ESPNU 11 a.m.)

Game 2: #2 Florida vs. #7 Auburn (ESPNU 1:30 p.m.)

Game 3: #4 LSU vs. #5 Georgia (ESPNU 4 p.m.)

Game 4: #1 Alabama vs. #8 Mississippi State (ESPN2 6:30 p.m.)

Friday (Semifinals)

Game 5: Game 1 winner vs. Game 2 winner (ESPNU 2 p.m.)

Game 6: Game 3 winner vs. Game 4 winner (ESPNU 4:30 p.m.)


Championship Game (ESPN 7 p.m.)

BamaMag Top Stories