Coaches All-SEC Has Alabama Flavor

Recent revelations of national "watch lists" anticipating the top players in the upcoming college football season have been an indication that most observers think Alabama is loaded for 2011. The Southeastern Conference coaches, voting on their pre-season All-SEC team, agree with that assessment.

Alabama led the SEC with seven representatives on the first team of the SEC Coaches Football Team.

The Crimson Tide had a total of 13 players on the first, second and third teams, second to Arkansas, which had 14 total.

Alabama three first team selections on offense are:

Tailback Trent Richardson, a 5-11, 224-pound junior; offensive lineman Barrett Jones, 6-6, 301-pound junior; and William Vlachos, 6-1, 289-pound senior.

The four Crimson Tide players named first team defense are:

Linebacker Dont'a Hightower, 6-4, 258, junior; nose tackle Josh Chapman, 6-1, 310, senior; strong safety Mark Barron, 6-2, 210, senior; and safety Robert Lester, 6-2, 206, junior.

The second team offense had sophomore tackle D.J. Fluker (6-6, 330) and the second defense had senior linebacker Courtney Upshaw (6-2, 263).

Bama players on the third team were senior wide receiver Marquis Maze (5-10, 182), junior cornerback Dre Kirkpatrick (6-3, 190), and sophomore linebacker C.J. Mosley (6-2, 225).

Although Saban has indicated Richardson will not be on special teams if he's the starting tailback, the coaches selected Richardson second team all-purpose on special teams.

Georgia had six players on the first team, which was second, while South Carolina had four players and Arkansas had three. Kentucky was the only other school to have multiple members on the first-team with two. Georgia had nine selections among all three teams, third best behind Arkansas and Bama.

Nine of the 12 SEC schools had a member on the first-team All-SEC squad. Each SEC school had at least one student-athlete on either the first, second or third-team. Every team had at least two selections on the combined three units.

There are six first-team pre-season selections that were on last year's first-team coaches All-SEC post-season team. Those include: WR Alshon Jeffery (South Carolina), RB Marcus Lattimore (South Carolina), LB Danny Trevathan (Kentucky), DB Mark Barron (Alabama), DB Stephon Gilmore (South Carolina) and PK Blair Walsh (Georgia).

The All-SEC first-team squad had 14 seniors and 12 underclassmen, including 10 juniors and two sophomores. The second-team had 16 seniors, seven juniors and five sophomores. The third-team had nine seniors, 11 juniors and eight sophomores.

This marks the eighth straight year of the SEC Coaches Pre-Season All-SEC Team. The team is announced each year in advance of the SEC Football Media Days. This year, the event will be held next Wednesday through Friday at the Wynfrey Hotel in Hoover.

BamaMag Top Stories