Alabama Soccer Set For TV Appearances

The Southeastern Conference has a fantastic television package, and not just for football and men's basketball. Other sports are shown regularly on Fox Sports South, ESPN (and particularly ESPNU), and CSS.



The Alabama soccer team will have three regular season matches televised during the 2011 campaign, one on each of the participating SEC networks.

Last year one of the most exciting soccer matches of the year in SEC play came when the Crimson Tide hosted Florida. In that televised match, Bama scored a last-minute goal in regulation in a 1-1 draw.

ESPNU will look for another such match this year when the network televises Alabama's trip to Gainesville to take on the Gators. The contest will be at 3 p.m. ET (2 p.m. central) on October 9 on ESPNU.

The next weekend Alabama will welcome Arkansas to Tuscaloosa for a match that will air on Fox Sports South on October 14, at 7 p.m., CT. The Tide downed the Razorbacks, 2-1, last season.

The final regular season match will air on CSS when Alabama heads to Athens, Ga., to face the Georgia Bulldogs. The match is scheduled for October 23, with kickoff slated for 2 p.m. Eastern, 1 p.m. CT.

BamaMag Top Stories