Richardson Tide's Most Valuable

Junior tailback Trent Richardson was named Alabama's most valuable player as the Crimson Tide held its annual awards banquet Sunday night in Birmingham. Although Alabama Coach Nick Saban spoke and players were recognized for a number of achievements, the highlight of the night had to be the announcement that Bama's final game of the season will be in the BCS National Championship Game.

Alabama Coach Nick Saban addressed an audience that included members of the team, coaching staff, administration and support staff following the awards session in which he recapped the 2011 season and stated the goals for the upcoming bowl game.

That bowl game will be the BCS National Championship Game to be played against LSU in the Superdome in New Orleans on January 9. Alabama is 11-1 and LSU 13-0. The Tigers defeated Bama, 9-6 in overtime, on November 5.

Awards presented Sunday night are:

Iron Man Award:

Chris Underwood, Jalston Fowler, Nico Johnson and Quinton Dial

Commitment to Academic Excellence Award:

D.J. Fluker, Carson Tinker, Mark Baron, Cyrus Kouandjio, Trent Richardson and Barrett Jones

Outstanding Senior Scholar Award:

Brandon Gibson and Brad Smelley

Unsung Hero Award:

Hardie Buck, Will Lowery, Eddie Lacy and Jerrell Harris

Outstanding Defensive Performer Award:

Mark Barron, Dont'a Hightower and Courtney Upshaw

Up-Front Award:

Defense: Josh Chapman and Jesse Williams. Offense: Chance Warmack and D.J. Fluker

Most Inspiring Player:

Mark Barron and Dont'a Hightower

Defensive Achievement Award:

DeQuan Menzie, Dre Kirkpatrick, Damion Square and Nick Gentry

Offensive Achievement Award:

William Vlachos, Darius Hanks, Kenny Bell and Brad Smelley

President's Award:

Defense: C.J. Mosley and Robert Lester. Offense: Barrett Jones and Michael Williams

Special Teams Award:

Brandon Gibson, Dee Milliner and Vinnie Sunseri

Defensive Player of the Year:

Dont'a Hightower, Mark Barron and Courtney Upshaw

Offensive Player of the Year:

A.J. McCarron and Marquis Maze

Pat Trammell Award:

Alex Watkins and Alfred McCullough

Jefferson County Alumni Association Distinguished Alumnus Award:

Kerry Goode

Most Valuable Player:

Trent Richardson

Captain Awards:

Mark Barron, Dont'a Hightower and Trent Richardson

BamaMag Top Stories