Alabama, LSU Lead In All-SEC

Alabama and LSU, the teams that will play for the national championship in New Orleans on Jan. 9, had the most representatives on the 2011 All-Southeastern Conference Coaches' Football Team. Both had 10 men, although by virtue of one Tider being selected at two positions, Bama had one more all-star position on the two-deep All-SEC team.

Alabama has been racking up the individual honors in the post-regular season, though the big prize will be decided between the Crimson Tide, runner-up to LSU in the SEC Western Division, and SEC Champion LSU at the Louisiana Superdome in the BCS National Championship Game. The teams met in regular season and it took overtime to determine a winner, the Fighting Tigers defeating Bama, 9-6, in Tuscaloosa.

Alabama had the usual suspects selected by the SEC head coaches. On the first team, the Crimson Tide is represented by tailback Trent Richardson, offensive tackle Barrett Jones, center William Vlachos, safety Mark Barron, and linebackers Dont'a Hightower and Courtney Upshaw.

On the second team were offensive guard Chance Warmack, wide receiver Marquis Maze, nose tackle Josh Chapman, and cornerback Dre Kirkpatrick.

Maze was also selected on the second team as kick return specialist.

Seven of the 12 SEC schools had a member on the first team. Alabama and LSU had six each on first team and Arkansas had five. The Razobacks had eight total members on the two teams, including Joe Adams earning first team All-SEC at two positions – return specialist and all-purpose player.

Alabama, LSU, and Arkansas are all from the SEC Western Division. Eastern Division champion Georgia had seven selected.

Coaches were not permitted to vote for members of their own teams.

BamaMag Top Stories