Richardson, Jones Recognized By SEC

Junior running back Trent Richardson and junior offensive lineman Barrett Jones were honored with individual awards from the Southeastern Conference on Wednesday as Richardson was named Offensive Player of the Year and Jones the Scholar-Athlete of the Year as well as the recipient of the Jacobs Blocking Trophy.

Alabama, 11-1 on the season, is preparing for the BCS National Championship Game against undefeated (13-0) and number one ranked LSU. The game will be in the Louisiana Superdome in New Orleans on January 9.

In 12 games this season, Trent Richardson has 263 rushing attempts for 1,583 yards and 20 touchdowns. The Pensacola, Fla., native leads the SEC and ranks fifth nationally with 131.9 rushing yards per game. He also averages 6.0 yards per carry and ranks second in school and SEC history with 23 total touchdowns.

Richardson has added 27 catches for 327 yards and three touchdowns and has accounted for 1,976 all-purpose yards this season, an average of 164.7 yards per game. Throughout the 2011 campaign, he has faced seven of the nation's top-50 defenses, five of the top-50 rush defenses and five top-20 total defenses.

Barrett Jones, a native of Germantown, Tenn., anchors the Alabama offensive line from his left tackle position. He has started 35 career games, including 10 at left tackle in 2011. Jones has helped the Tide rank 15th nationally and first in the SEC in rushing (219.83), while blocking for the league's No. 2 scoring offense at 36.0 points per game.

This season, he graded out first or second on the Alabama offensive line in nine of the 10 games he appeared in. Jones has played at four positions along the offensive line in 2011, and the only spot he has not seen time at, right guard, is where he started 25 games the last two years.

Jones, an accounting major who graduated in August with a 4.0 GPA, is now working towards a master's in accounting. He has twice been named a Capital One Academic All-American and made the SEC Freshman Honor Roll in 2008 as well as the SEC Academic Honor Roll in 2009 and 2010.

BamaMag Top Stories