National Awards To Richardson, Jones

Alabama players won two of the nation's top individual awards Thursday night in Lake Buena Vista, Fla., near Orlando. The Crimson Tide produced its first Doak Walker Award and third winner of the Outland Trophy.

Alabama junior running back Trent Richardson became the first Tide player to win the Doak Walker Award as the nation's best running back and junior offensive tackle Barrett Jones became the third Bama player to win the Outland Trophy as the finest interior lineman in the nation.

The awards were presented as part of the Home Depot College Football Awards Show held at the Atlantic Dance Hall on the Disney Boardwalk.

Richardson and Jones were also part of the large contingent of Alabama players who were named to the Walter Camp All-America team. They were joined on the first team by linebacker Dont'a Hightower and safety Mark Barron. Center William Vlachos and linebacker Courtney Upshaw were second team selections.

Alabama has one game remaining this season. Coach Nick Saban's Crimson Tide, 11-1 on the year, will meet undefeated (13-0) and number one ranked LSU in the BCS National Championship Game on Jan. 9 in New Orleans.

Richardson, a native of Pensacola, Fla., has also been named the Southeastern Conference Offensive Player of the Year and a SEC first-team honoree. He also earned first team AFCA All-American honors. He will be in New York later this week as one of the five finalists for the Heisman Trophy as the nation's most outstanding player.

The powerful back is fifth in the nation in rushing yards per game, averaging 131.92, and has scored 23 touchdowns this season, ranking him fifth in scoring at 11.5 points per game. This season, Richardson set the Alabama record for rushing touchdowns in a season with 20. That ties him for second most in a season in SEC history.

Jones, a native of Germantown, Tenn., anchors the Alabama offensive line from his left tackle position. He has started 35 career games, including 10 at left tackle in 2011. He has also helped the Tide rank 15th nationally and first in the SEC in rushing (219.83), while blocking for the league's No. 2 scoring offense at 36.0 points per game.

Jones has also been named an AFCA All-American on top of earning All-SEC first team. Off the field, Jones has been recognized as the Wuerfell Trophy winner along with the SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

Jones joins former Crimson Tide offensive linemen and National Football League first round picks Chris Samuels (1999) and Andre Smith (2008) as Outland Trophy winners.

BamaMag Top Stories