Alabama's Mr. Football awards

It was a big day in the state of Alabama with the state's best players awarded for their performance including the prestigious Mr. Football. Alabama commitments dominated the day including the overall top award.

T.J. Yeldon, who is already enrolled at the University of Alabama, earned this year's Mr. Football award given to the state's best player as recognized by the state media. Yeldon won the award with stiff competition coming from Hueytown quarterback Jameis Winston.

Yeldon finished his senior season with 2,196 yards rushing on 231 carries with 31 touchdowns in 12 games. He was named the MVP of the Alabama/Mississippi All-Star Classic after rushing for 116 yards on 16 carries and three touchdowns.

The 6-foot-1.5, 215-pound back switched his commitment from Auburn to Alabama in December after Tigers' offensive coordinator Gus Malzahn accepted the head coaching job at Arkansas State. Yeldon enrolled at Alabama for the spring semester and already taking classes in Tuscaloosa.

Yeldon edged Winston in votes by 182 to 173. Anniston running back Troymaine Pope finished third with 116 votes by members of the Alabama High School Sportswriters Association.

Yeldon also won the Class 6A Back of the Year award. He was joined by Alabama commitment Reggie Ragland, five-star linebacker from Madsion-Bob Jones who won the Class 6A Lineman of the Year.

Ragland had a tremendous senior season helping Bob Jones to a 10-2 overall record with two losses to Hoover (once in the regular season and second round of the playoffs). He recorded 97 tackles, 22 tackles for loss, six sacks and 25 quarterback hurries. He is rated the No. 1 overall linebacker in the country by

Ryan Anderson, from Daphne, Ala. and Alabama commitment, was also a finalist for the Class 6A Lineman of the Year. He finished in third place voting behind Ragland and Austin Golson who is a 2013 lineman from Prattville committed to Florida State.

Jameis Winston, five-star quarterback from Hueytown, earned the Class 5A Back of the Year award. Hueytown suffered only one loss during the 2011 season in the semi-finals of the state playoffs to runner up Vigor. He finished the season 162-of-235 for 2,424 yards with 28 touchdowns. He added 1,065 yards rushing with 15 touchdowns.

Winston remains committed to Florida State. He has taken visits to Alabama and Stanford and plans to visit Florida State next week. Alabama new offensive coordinator Doug Nussmeir is expected to visit with Winston Wednesday evening.

It's not often you see teammates pull a sweep of the state awards especially in the Class 5A. Winston won the Back of the Year while teammate linebacker Chris Rabb earned the Lineman of the Year.

Alabama commitment Tyler Hayes, four-star outside linebacker from Thomasville, earned the Class 4A Lineman of the Year. Hayes had a tremendous high school career where he was a star on both sides of the ball and special teams.

Another Alabama-bound player earning hardware was Bradley Bozeman, offensive tackle from Roanoke-Handley. The 6-foot-5, 310-pound junior earned the Class 3A Lineman of the Year after helping Handley win the state championship.


1A Back of the Year: DeMarko Hall (Pickens County)
1A Lineman of the Year: Terris Lewis (Linden)
2A Back of the Year: Ardarius Stewart (Fultondale)
2A Lineman of the Year: Brad Patterson (Red Bay)
3A Back of the Year: Diamond Simmons (Hanceville)
3A Lineman of the Year: Bradley Bozeman (Handley)
4A Back of the Year: Troymaine Pope (Anniston)
4A Lineman of the Year: Tyler Hayes (Thomasville)
5A Back of the Year: Jameis Winston (Hueytown)
5A Lineman of the Year: Chris Rabb (Hueytown)
Class 6A Back of the Year: T.J. Yeldon (Daphne)
Class 6A Lineman of the Year: Reggie Ragland (Bob Jones)
Mr. Football: T.J. Yeldon (Daphne)

Discuss on the message board HERE.

Follow Andrew Bone on TWITTER for the very latest recruiting news.
Follow!/AndrewJBone on Twitter

BamaMag Top Stories