Notes From Tide's Crimson-White Game

The A-Day game was the 15th and final practice of 2012 spring training for the Alabama Crimson Tide. Coach Nick Saban's team will next assemble for official practices in August in anticipation of attempting to repeat as national champion. Here are notes from Saturday's competition at Bryant-Denny Stadium.

The breakdown of teams for Alabama's A-Day Game Saturday was the first offense and second defense (Crimson) against the first defense and second offense (White).

Attendance was announced at 78,526 on a sunny day with 80 degree temperatures. Many of those on the East side – which was in the sun – were early departures.

Robert Lester intercepted A.J. McCarron on the first play of the scrimmage at White 31.

Phillip Sims, quaterback for the White team, had not thrown many passes in Bama's first two scrimmages of the spring, but opened up the game with two consecutive completions, albeit short completions and finished 9-12 for 135 yards with two touchdowns and no interceptions.

Harrison Jones, who had been listed in most pre-spring depth charts as an H-back, started at tight end Brent Calloway, the former tailback and linebacker, was the starter at H-back.

Dee Milliner and Christion Jones were the deep men on kickoff returns and Jones was the punt return man.

Cody Mandell was the punter for both teams. He had some short ones, but bombed 66-yard and 57-yard punts in the second quarter and a 60-yarder in the third period. For the day he had 16 punts for a 44.1 yard average.

Prior to the scrimmage, the 2011 Alabama captains took part in the Walk of Fame ceremony at Denny Chimes where Crimson Tide captains have their hand- and foot-prints are placed in concrete. The 2011 captains were Trent Richardson, Dont'a Hightower, and Mark Barron. Hightower and Barron were also 2010 captains.

A pre-game ceremony at Bryant-Denny Stadium Saturday was the presentation of the Jacobs Award to upcoming senior Barrett Jones. The award goes to the best blocker in the Southeastern Conference and is selected by conference coaches. Jones was also winner of the 2011 Outland Trophy as the nation's best lineman.

Jones is the 20th Alabama player to win the award. Bama has had more winners than any other school. The first winner of the Jacobs Award was Riley Smith in 1935. Smith was a quarterback in the Notre Dame box formation, which meant he was primarily a bloker.

The College Football Performance Awards were presented to 2011 All-America Tide players Mark Barron and Trent Richardson. Barron earned the Elite Defensive Back Award and Richardson the Elite Running Back Award.

Alabama's roster includes: qurterback AJ McCarron, linebacker C.J. Mosley, offensive tackle D.J. Fluker, defensive end D.J. Pettway, and tailback T.J. Yeldon.

The telecast of the 2012 University of Alabama Golden Flake A-Day Spring Football Game will be re-aired on Comcast Sports Southeast (CSS) several times over the coming weeks. CSS will rebroadcast the game Sunday at 8 p.m. CDT, April 19 at 8 p.m., April 23 at 1 p.m., and April 29 at 9 p.m.

Alabama opens the 2012 season on Sept. 1 against Michigan in Cowboys Stadium in Arlington, Texas. The neutral site game is billed as the "Cowboy Classic." Alabama has been designated as the home team for the game, which will have officials from the Big 12. Big 12 officials also did the BCS National Championship Game in New Orleans for Bama's 21-0 win over LSU.

BamaMag Top Stories