Yeldon, Hubbard Top Stars In A-Day

One was a newcomer. One was an up-and-comer. That was the pre-spring assessment of a couple of men in new roles for the Alabama Crimson Tide. In the A-Day Game Saturday at Bryant-Denny Stadium they were recognized for outstanding accomplishments.

Alabama's finished spring practice Saturday with an A-Day Game that produced a few surprises, the biggest of which was true freshman tailback T.J. Yeldon. With Eddie Lacy not participating in practice this spring, Yeldon has gotten extra work since entering The University in January.

On Saturday he led the White team – made up of the first defense and second offense – to a 24-15 victory over the Crimson (first offense, second defense).

Yeldon was both the game's leading rusher and leading receiver in the game. He had 16 runs for 88 yards and caught five passes for 91 yards, including a short pass that he turned into a 50-yard touchdown play. For his efforts he was selected by sportswriters covering the game as winner of the Dixie Howell Award given to the game's most valuable player.

Adrian Hubbard, a 6-6, 248-pound linebacker who is replacing Courtney Upshaw at the jack position, was selected by the media as winner of the Dwight Stephenson Award as the most valuable lineman in the gqme. Hubbard had a team-leading seven tackles, including four for lost yardage, and added three quarterback sacks .

Following the game, Alabama announced various awards presented to players for their performances throughout the spring. The winners of the awards are:

Lee Roy Jordan Headhunter Award – C.J. Mosley, Chance Warmack

Jerry Duncan "I Like to Practice" Award – D.J. Fluker, Michael Williams, Nico Johnson, John Fulton

Billy Neighbors Defensive Lineman Award – Jesse Williams

Paul Crane Offensive Lineman Award – Anthony Steen

Bobby Johns Defensive Back Award – Dee Milliner

Johnny Musso Offensive Back Award – Jalston Fowler

Ray Perkins Receiver Award – Kevin Norwood

Woodrow Lowe Linebacker Award – Adrian Hubbard

Derrick Thomas Community Service Award – Carson Tinker, Quinton Dial

Bear Bryant Outstanding Non-Scholarship Award – Jeremy Shelley, Kelly Johnson

Ozzie Newsome Most Improved Freshman Award – Brent Calloway, Christion Jones, Jeoffrey Pagan, Tre DePriest, Ha Ha Clinton-Dix

Bart Starr Most Improved Player Award – Vinnie Sunseri, Brian Vogler, Ed Stinson, Cody Mandell

Mal Moore Leadership Award – Damion Square, A.J. McCarron

Sylvester Croom Commitment to Excellence Award – Barrett Jones, Robert Lester

BamaMag Top Stories