College football gets its playoff

After six months of discussions, the Presidential Oversight Committee approved a four-team college football playoff that will begin the 2014-15 season. There are still many details to figure out.

The BCS is dead, effective 2014.

After six months of discussions, capped Tuesday with a three-hour meeting, the powers that be known as the Presidential Oversight Committee, approved a four-team college football playoff. The 11 conference commissioners and Notre Dame athletic director Jack Swarbrick presented their model to a board of 12 university presidents in Washington D.C., it was accepted, and now we have this much-anticipated playoff system.

The four teams will be selected by a committee, much like the way the NCAA basketball tournament seeds are set.

This is a 12-year deal and six bowls will host the semifinals on a rotation basis and the championship game will rotate among neutral sites.

The first national championship game will be Jan. 12, 2015.

There are many details to figure out, so stay tuned.

For more Alabama coverage, follow Laken Litman on Twitter!

BamaMag Top Stories