Williams, Jones On Watch Lists

Two more watch lists for college football honors have been announced, and, again, Alabama has nominees for these awards, which will be presented following the season.

Alabama has early nominees for the Rimington Trophy, presented the nation's top center, and to for the Mackey Award, given to the nation's top tight end.

Neither is a surprise.

The Crimson Tide nominee for the Rimington Award is Barrett Jones. Bama's entry on the Mackey Award list is Michael Williams.

Both Alabama players are upcoming fifth year seniors who have been a part of two national championship teams and played on Bama squads that have compiled a 36-4 record in their first three years of competition.

Jones, 6-5, 311 from Germantown, Tenn., is no stranger to awards, but he is a bit of a stranger to the center position. Jones was a freshman All-America as starting right guard on the 2009 Bama national championship team. Last year he had moved to left tackle, where he was an All-America and was also winner of the Outland Trophy as the nation's outstanding lineman and of the Jacobs Award, selected by Southeastern Conference coaches as the best blocker in the SEC.

This year Jones will start as his third different position on the offensive line as he moves to center.

There are 51 players on the Rimington Trophy watch list, including 21 who were on the list last year. Jones, who is a straight A student who has a degree in accounting and is nearing completion of his master's degree, is one of two graduate students on the list.

The SEC has 10 nominees. In addition to Jones, others from the SEC are:

Dillon Day, Mississippi State; Reese Dismukes, Auburn; Jonotthan Harrison, Florida; T.J. Johnson, South Carolina; Patrick Lewis, Texas A&M; P.J. Lonergan, LSU; Matt Smith, Kentucky; Travis Swanson, Arkansas; and Evan Swindall, Ole Miss.

The award is named for former Nebraska great Dave Rimington. The winner will be honored in Lincoln, Neb., on Jan, 12, 2013.

Williams, 6-6, 269, has played in all 40 games of his Crimson Tide career and has made 25 starts. He has good hands as a receiver, but is known primarily for his efficient blocking in the running game. He has 27 career receptions for 320 yards and three touchdowns. Last year he caught 16 passes for 191 yards and two touchdowns.

The John Mackey Award was first presented in 2000 to Purdue's Tim Stratton and has seen a different school win the award each year. It is named after Pro Football Hall of Fame player John Mackey, who played college football for Syracuse and would go on to be named to the NFL's 1960s All-Decade Team. Syracuse retired Mackey's number 88 in 2007. Mackey died last July at the age of 69 after a bout with frontotemporal dementia. Mackey's health helped pave the way for the NFL Player's Association to provide $88,000 a year for nursing home care to former players.

A mid-season watch list will be released on Oct, 15. Semi-finalists will be named on Nov. 12, and that list will be trimmed to three finalists a week later on Nov. 19. The 2012 Mackey Award winner will be announced during the College Football Awards show on Dec. 6 in Orlando.

Others from the SEC on the list are Chase Clement of LSU, Chris Gragg of Arkansas, Malcolm Johnson of Mississippi State, Phil Lutzenkirchen of Auburn, Jordan Reed of Florida, and Mychal Rivera of Tennessee.

BamaMag Top Stories