SEC Coaches Like LSU, Tide Players

Alabama and LSU played for the national championship last year with the Crimson Tide defeating the Bengal Tigers in the BCS National Championship Game. Both Bama and defending Southeastern Conference champion LSU impress league coaches that they will be strong again this year. Both teams have 11 players named to the 2012 SEC Pre-Season Coaches All-SEC Team.

The Tigers have a league-high seven players named to the first-team, three on the second-team and one on the third-team. The Crimson Tide has four players selected to the first-team, four on the second-team, and three on the third-team.

Alabama is represented by senior center Barrett Jones and junior tackle D.J. Fluker on the first offense and linebackers junior C.J. Mosley and senior Nico Johnson on the first defense. The second offense has junior tailback Eddie Lacy and senior guard Chance Warmack and the second defense has nose tackle Jesse Williams and safety Robert Lester. Named to the third unit from Bama are quarterback A.J. McCarron and tight end Michael Williams on offense and cornerback Demarcus Milliner on defense. Arkansas is third with 10 total players selected, four on the first-team and three on each of the second and third teams.

This marks the ninth straight year of the SEC Coaches Pre-Season All-SEC Team. The team is announced each year in advance of the SEC Football Media Days, which will be next week in Hoover.

Eleven of the 14 SEC Schools had a representative on the first-team and every school had at least two players named to one of the three units.

There are nine first-team pre-season selections that were on last year's first-team coaches All-SEC post-season team. Those include: OL Barrett Jones (Alabama); OL Alex Hurst (LSU); QB Tyler Wilson (Arkansas); DL Sam Montgomery (LSU); DL Corey Lemonier (Auburn); LB Jarvis Jones (Georgia); DB Tyrann Mathieu (LSU); DB Bacarri Rambo (Georgia); and, PK Caleb Sturgis (Florida).

The All-SEC first-team squad had 12 seniors and 16 underclassmen, including 14 juniors and two sophomores. The second-team had 17 seniors, 10 juniors and one sophomore. The third-team had 16 seniors, 12 juniors and three sophomores.

Among last year's SEC national award recipients on this year's team are Alabama center Barrett Jones, the 2011 Outland Trophy recipient and LSU defensive back Tyrann Mathieu, the 2011 Bednarik Award winner. Jones, Mathieu, LSU defensive end Sam Montgomery, Georgia outside linebacker Jarvis Jones, Georgia defensive back Bacarri Rambo, LSU punter Brad Wing and Florida placekicker Caleb Sturgis were first-team All-America players last season and are on this season's pre-season coaches All-SEC Team.

BamaMag Top Stories