Top Coaches Lead Tide And Tigers

When Alabama and LSU meet on Saturday night in Baton Rouge, half of the four coaches in the Southeastern Conference who have won national championships will be on the field. Nick Saban has won two at Alabama and one at LSU and Les Miles has also won a national title at LSU.

Both Alabama and LSU have national championship aspirations this year, too, and unlike last season it is unlikely that the loser of the Crimson Tide vs. Tigers game will be able to make it to the BCS National Championship Game. That's particularly true of LSU, which has a loss this season.

Bama is 8-0 and ranked first in the nation. The Tide is 5-0 in Southeastern Conference games. LSU is 7-1 overall, 3-1 in the SEC, and ranked fifth in the nation. It is the seventh straight year the teams have gone into this game ranked in the top 25. Alabama has been ranked for 74 consecutive weeks, best in the nation, and LSU has been ranked 58 consecutive weeks, second best in the nation. LSU is 2-9-1 all time against number one ranked teams, including an 0-2 record against Bama.

Kickoff Saturday in Tiger Stadium is at 7 p.m. CDT with television coverage by CBS.

Nick Saban coached the Fighting Tigers to the national championship in 2003. He was succeeded by Les Miles, who coached LSU to the title in 2007. Saban has since coached Alabama to the 2009 and 2011 national championships, with the Crimson Tide defeating LSU 21-0 in last year's BCS National Championship Game at the Louisiana Superdome.

The other SEC coaches with national championships are South Carolina's Steve Spurrier, who led Florida to the title in 1996, and Gene Chizik, who coached Auburn to the championship in 2010.

Saturday's game is the final road game of the year for Alabama.

Alabama leads the series with LSU by 46-25-5. This will be the 77th game in the series, which dates from 1895. LSU has won 9 of the last 16 meetings, Bama 3 of the last 5. The Tide has a 24-9-2 lead in games played in Baton Rouge.

The winner of the Alabama-LSU game has played in the SEC Championship Game five of the last seven years – LSU in 2005, 2007, and 2011, and Alabama in 2008 and 2009. Three times since 2005 the Tide-Tigers game has gone overtime with LSU winning in 2005 and 2011 and Bama winning in 2008.

Alabama has six players from Louisiana: wide receiver Kenny Bell, safety Landon Collins, linebacker Denzel Devall, tailback Eddie Lacy, punter Cody Mandell, and cornerback Bradley Sylve.

Alabama is 20-6 in games against Associated Press top 25 teams over the past four seasons and 11-4 against AP top 10 teams.

Since the start of the 2011 season, Alabama is 20-1 with the one loss to LSU. In that same period, the Tigers are 20-2 with 11 wins over AP top 25 teams.

LSU has won 22 consecutive games in Tiger Stadium, the nation's longest home winning streak. Under Miles, the Tigers are 36-1 in Saturday Night home games and the Tigers, which had an open date last week, are 5-1 under Miles after bye weeks. Miles has five wins over Alabama, the most of any coach in LSU history.

Alabama has won 56 games since the start of the 2008 season (four plus seasons), second behind Boise State with 57 wins over that period. LSU is fifth with 48 wins in that span.

BamaMag Top Stories