Bama notes from Media Days

Returning players report next Wednesday. Prior to that, 16 scholarshipped newcomers will report Sunday and have workouts on Monday and Wednesday. The full squad begins practice on Friday, August 10. Full contact work can begin Tuesday, August 14, with Alabama working towards the season-opener against UCLA.

Bama will host the Bruins at 6:45 p.m. CST Saturday, September 1, in a game that will be nationally telecast by the cable network, ESPN. Alabama signed 21 new players in February. Two of those, freshman quarterback Brodie Croyle and junior offensive lineman Atlas Herrion, entered The University in January and took part in spring training. Thus, they will report with other returning players next week. (Actually, all returning players have been on campus throughout the summer for off-season work, but will officially report next Wednesday.)

One signee, wide receiver Bryan Bass, was a top baseball draft choice and has embarked on a professional baseball career. Defensive lineman Mac Tyler apparently has failed for a second straight year to gain academic eligibility and will not report. And fullback Quentin Bowens is not expected to report on Sunday because he has not yet completed requirements for graduation from junior college.

For his third season at Alabama, Saleem Rasheed returns to the middle linebacker position where he enjoyed so much success as a freshman. Picked as pre-season All-SEC by the media, Rasheed is one of three Bama players on the team.

In his remarks during Southeastern Conference Media Days Thursday, Tide Head Coach Dennis Franchione said he would play the best player regardless of class, but added he didn't count on true freshmen. "They are all talented," he said, then listed a handful he thought had the best chance to contribute early. They are linebacker Freddie Roach, tight end Clint Johnston, and defensive backs Charlie Peprah and Roman Harper.

One aspect of the SEC Media Days is predictions on how the league race will go and on which players will earn honors. Franchione said, "I read the (pre-season) magazines and listen to you. I think you guys are not sure whether we're a 10-3 ball club or a 3-8 team. After 15 days (the number of spring practice days) I'm not sure either. I don't think we're the club you saw last year. It doesn't appear to be 3-8 talent level."

In voting by the media, Alabama was picked third in the Western Division behind LSU and Mississippi State. Auburn was fourth, Arkansas fifth and Ole Miss sixth in the Western Division. Florida was an overwhelming choice to win the East and to win the SEC title. Alabama got eight first place votes among the 84 who cast ballots (over 600 were registered for the three-day event) and the Tide got one vote to win the SEC crown. As for the SEC West race, Franchione said, "I'd say we have a pretty tough side with balance, not a lot separating any of the ball clubs. Thre's not a team that you think you can put down in the ‘W' column."

Linebacker Saleem Rasheed and wide receiver Freddie Milons were picked first team All-SEC (Milons picked as a kick return specialist), with Milons second team on offense at receiver and defensive end Kindal Moorehead also selected second team.


(As voted on by members of attendees at SEC Football Media Day) [84 total voters]

* - Ties

(##) number of votes received


TE Derek Smith (40) Kentucky 6-6 265 Jr. Silver Grove, Ky.

OL Mike Pearson (74) Florida 6-7 292 Jr. Seffner, Fla.

OL Terrence Metcalf (70) Ole Miss 6-3 315 Sr. Clarksdale, Miss.

OL Jon Stinchcomb (57) Georgia 6-6 278 Jr. Lilburn, Ga.

OL Kendall Simmons (56) Auburn 6-3 328 Sr. Ripley, Miss.

C Ben Claxton (51) Ole Miss 6-3 281 Jr. Dublin, Ga.

WR Jabar Gaffney (81) Florida 6-1 202 So. Jacksonville, Fla.

WR Josh Reed (59) LSU 5-11 200 Jr. Rayne, La.

QB Casey Clausen (33) Tennessee 6-4 210 So. Northridge, Calif.

RB Dicenzo Miller (58) Miss. State 5-10 207 Sr. Weir, Miss.

RB Cedric Cobbs (45) Arkansas 6-1 221 So. Little Rock, Ark.

PK Jeff Chandler (42) Florida 6-2 219 Sr. Jacksonville, Fla.

RS Freddie Milons (45) Alabama 5-11 191 Sr. Starkville, Miss.


DL John Henderson (80) Tennessee 6-7 290 Sr. Nashville, Tenn.

DL Alex Brown (65) Florida 6-3 264 Sr. White Springs, Fla.

DL Will Overstreet (28) Tennessee 6-4 260 Sr. Jackson, Miss.

ILB Trev Faulk (72) LSU 6-3 225 Jr. Lafayette, La.

ILB Saleem Rasheed (44) Alabama 6-3 227 Jr. Birmingham, Ala.

OLB Kalimba Edwards (68) South Carolina 6-6 260 Sr. East Point, Ga.

OLB Mario Haggan (64) Miss. State 6-3 253 Jr. Clarksdale, Miss.

DB Lito Sheppard (78) Florida 5-10 194 Jr. Jacksonville, Fla.

DB Pig Prather (77) Miss. State 6-2 195 Sr. Falkner, Miss.

DB Sheldon Brown (47) South Carolina 5-10 190 Sr. Fort Lawn, S.C.

DB Tim Wansley (44) Georgia 5-9 172 Sr. Buford, Ga.

P Damon Duval (72) Auburn 6-0 184 Jr. Chattanooga, Tenn.


TE Robert Royal (34) LSU 6-5 231 Sr. New Orleans, La.

OL Fred Weary (39) Tennessee 6-4 301 Sr. Montgomery, Ala.

OL Kenny Sandlin (9) Arkansas 6-3 313 Sr. Van Buren, Ark.

OL Cedric Williams (7) South Carolina 6-3 300 Jr. Charleston, S.C.

OL Melvin Paige (5) South Carolina 6-5 305 Sr. Dillon, S.C.

C Zac Zedalis (8) Florida 6-3 280 Sr. Alachua, Fla.

WR Terrence Edwards (10) Georgia 6-1 165 Jr. Tennille, Ga.

WR Freddie Milons (9) Alabama 5-11 191 Sr. Starkville, Miss.

*QB Rex Grossman (15) Florida 6-1 218 So. Bloomington, Ind.

*QB Rohan Davey (15) LSU 6-3 239 Sr. Miami, Fla.

RB Derek Watson (43) South Carolina 6-1 210 Jr. Williamston, S.C.

RB Earnest Graham (10) Florida 5-9 220 Jr. Fort Myers, Fla.

PK Alex Walls (33) Tennessee 6-1 190 Jr. Bristol, Va.

RS Ray Perkins (12) Vanderbilt 5-10 191 So. Fort Lauderdale, Fla.


DL Kindal Moorehead (25) Alabama 6-4 293 Jr. Memphis, Tenn.

DL DeMarco McNeil (17) Auburn 6-1 301 So. Prichard, Ala.

DL Dorsett Davis (16) Miss. State 6-6 314 Sr. Cleveland, Miss.

OLB Eddie Strong (32) Ole Miss 6-3 242 Jr. Batesville, Miss.

OLB Bradie James (22) LSU 6-3 228 Jr. West Monroe, La.

ILB Andra Davis (4) Florida 6-1 254 Sr. Live Oak, Fla.

ILB Dominique Stevenson (3) Tennessee 6-0 220 Sr. Gaffney, S.C.

DB Todd Johnson (25) Florida 6-1 194 Jr. Sarasota, Fla.

DB Syniker Taylor (25) Ole Miss 6-0 205 Sr. Gulfport, Miss.

DB Andre Lott (18) Tennessee 5-11 185 Sr. Memphis, Tenn.

DB Ken Hamlin (8) Arkansas 6-2 197 So. Memphis, Tenn.

P Richie Butler (7) Arkansas 6-1 210 Jr. Harrison, Ark.

There were 84 votes. The leading vote-getter was Florida WR Jabar Gaffney, who received 81 votes. Each school was represented on the first or second teams.

Florida had the most players represented with 10 (5 on first-team, 5 on second-team). Tennessee had seven players on the squads (3 on first-team, 4 on second-team). South Carolina (2 on first-team, 3 on second-team) and LSU (2 on first-team, 3 on second-team) each had five players on the squad.


(Tabulated on a 1-2-3-4-5-6 scale)

Eastern Division

(First Place Votes in parenthesis)
1. Florida (78) 90
2. Tennessee (5) 174
3. South Carolina (1) 275
4. Georgia 306
5. Vanderbilt 434
6. Kentucky 485

Western Division

(First Place Votes in parenthesis)
1. LSU (40) 141
2. Miss. State (34) 151
3. Alabama ( 8) 266
4. Auburn (1) 382
5. Arkansas 411
6. Ole Miss (1) 413


[There were five voters that did not have a champion selected]

Florida (66), Miss. State (4), Tennessee (4), LSU (2), Alabama (1), Ole Miss (1), South Carolina (1)

BamaMag Top Stories