Wimp To Be Honored As Basketball Legend

Break out those old plaid jackets, those of you planning to attend this year's Southeastern Conference Men's Basketball Tournament in Nashville. And it's not because current Tide Coach Anthony Grant has opted for a new fashion look.

Former Alabama Coach Wimp Sanderson is among the 14 men selected for recognition as an SEC Basketball Legend. He and the 13 other men, one from each SEC school, will be honored at the 2013 SEC Men's Basketball Tournament March 13-17, at Bridgestone Arena in Nashville. Legends are recognized during each team's first game in the tournament.

Sanderson, who was known as "The Man In Plaid" because of the jackets he wore, coached at Alabama from 1980-92 and ranks as the program's all-time winningest coach with 267 victories during his 12-year tenure. Furthermore, his .692 winning percentage (267-119) ranks fourth in the school's record books. He closed his Alabama career with nine NCAA Tournaments, which included four Sweet 16 appearances, and five SEC Tournament championships.

In addition to Sanderson, the 2013 class includes Jerry Carlton, Arkansas; Ronnie Battle, Auburn; Bill Koss, Florida; Tim Bassett, Georgia; Jamal Mashburn, Kentucky; Geert Hammink, LSU; Rahim Lockhart, Ole Miss; Horatio Webster, Mississippi State; Norm Stewart, Missouri; Eddie Fogler, South Carolina; Len Kosmalski, Tennessee; John Beasley, Texas A&M; Mike Rhoades, Vanderbilt.

Each SEC Basketball Legend will be recognized at halftime of his institution's first game at the tournament.

Highlighting the schedule of events at the Sunkist Soda SEC FanFare will be appearances by selected legends. FanFare will be open Thursday-Saturday, March 14-16.

This marks the 15th year of the SEC Basketball Legends program. Alabama's SEC Legends include, in order, Reggie King, 1999; Wendell Hudson, 2000; T.R. Dunn, 2001; Leon Douglas, 2002; Buck Johnson, 2003; Derrick McKey, 2004; Gary Waites, 2005; Jim Farmer, 2006; Mike Nordholz, 2007; Leon Marlaier, 2008; Melvin Cheatum, 2009; Charles Cleveland, 2010; Robert Horry, 2011; and Jack Kubiszyn, 2012.

BamaMag Top Stories