A-Day On April 20 Will Be On ESPN2

Alabama football players have begun the off-season program and Crimson Tide players undoubtedly are aware they are NOT the national champions. An early version of the 2013 Crimson Tide team that will attempt to win a third consecutive national championship for Bama will be unveiled at this year's A-Day Game on April 20.

Alabama has announced the date of the annual spring game, although not many other details of spring football practice. Based on previous years, the Crimson Tide could begin spring work just before the start of The University's spring break, which begins March 22.

The A-Day Game will be televised on ESPN2 with kickoff scheduled for 2 p.m. CDT on Saturday, April 20, at Bryant-Denny Stadium. There will be no admission charge and seating will be on a first-come basis. More information on A-Day, including additional activities, traffic, and parking, will be available at a later date.

Alabama leads the nation in spring game attendance over the last six years with a total of 516,536 fans and an average of 86,089 during that period. The largest A-Day crowd in school history came in 2011 (92,310). In Coach Nick Saban's first year of 2007, the stadium was at full capacity of 92,138. Bryant-Denny has since been expanded to 101,821.

Alabama also announced its Homecoming football game has been set for Saturday, October 5, when the Crimson Tide will host Georgia State at Bryant-Denny Stadium. Further details about Homecoming weekend activities, including a kickoff time for the game, will be announced later.

The Crimson Tide of Coach Nick Saban has won the last two national championships and three of the last four.

The 2013 Alabama team returns a number of starters from the 2012 team that defeated Notre Dame for the BCS National Championship. Offensive starters returning are quarterback A.J. McCarron, left tackle Cyrus Kouandjio, right guard Anthony Steen, and wide receivers Amari Cooper, Kevin Norwood, and Christion Jones. Defensive starters returning are end Ed Stinson, weakside linebacker C.J. Mosley, middle linebacker Trey DePriest, strongside linebacker Adrian Hubbard, jack linebacker Xzavier Dickson, strong safety HaHa Clinton-Dix, cornerback Deion Belue, and nickel back Geno Smith. Bama returns punter Cody Mandell and placekicker Cade Foster.

BamaMag Top Stories