Derrick Thomas Falls Short Of Induction

The National Football Foundation and College Football Hall of Fame announced the class of 2013 today in New York City. One nominee absent from the final list was legendary Alabama defender Derrick Thomas (1985-88). A unanimous All-American in 1988, the lightening quick linebacker set an NCAA record with 52 career sacks.

Additionally Derrick Thomas holds the single season SEC record of 27, topping his own best of 18 achieved as a junior. He won the Butkus Award and was named the SEC Defensive Player of the Year as a senior at Alabama. Arizona linebacker Tedy Bruschi (1991-95) named to the class of 2013 today, shares the NCAA career sack record with Thomas.

‘BAMA Magazine/ interviewed Tedy Bruschi at the Walter Camp Football Foundation Annual Awards banquet in January 2011. He spoke of his admiration for the Crimson Tide's greatest pass rusher, Derrick Thomas.

Listen to Tedy Bruschi

BamaMag Top Stories