Predictable Picks For SEC Event

To the surprise of almost no one, Alabama will be represented by three senior football players when the Southeastern Conference hosts Media Days at Hoover in suburban Birmingham next week. The Crimson Tide is on the schedule on Thursday, the final day of the three-day event. Just because the player selections were predictable, however, doesn't mean they are not excellent choices.

Each of the 14 SEC teams are represented by the head coach (unless he's dodging a warrant-server, like Phil Fulmer a few years ago) and three players. Alabama Coach Nick Saban will have quarterback A.J. McCarron, linebacker C.J. Mosley, and right guard Anthony Steen when the Crimson Tide meets the press.

The event takes place at the Hyatt Regency-Wynfrey Hotel. SEC Commissioner Mike Slive will open the proceedings Tuesday afternoon, followed by journalists, radio and television broadcasters, and Internet bloggers interviewing players and coaches for three days.

Teams on Wednesday are Florida, Missouri, Ole Miss, and South Carolina.

Wednesday it is Texas A&M, Kentucky, Mississippi State, Tennessee, Auburn, and Arkansas.

Bama is joined on the final day by LSU, Georgia, and Vanderbilt.

SEC Coordinator of Officials Steve Shaw will be on the podium Wednesday.

Alabama is the star team at the event as the Crimson Tide has dominated the SEC since its inception in 1933 and, more recently, has won three of the last four national championships. Moreover, Nick Saban is the coaching rock star of not only the SEC, but nationally.

McCarron, who has quarterbacked Bama to back-to-back national championships, and Mosley, the top defender on what was the nation's top defense last year, are both candidates for the Maxwell Award as the nation's top player. Steen has been overshadowed by offensive line teammates such as Barrett Jones, D.J. Fluker, Chance Warmack, and Cyrus Kouandjio, but has been a two-year starter on what has been considered the best offensive line in college football.

The biggest name, though, will be Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel, winner of the Heisman Trophy last year as a redshirt freshman, and architect of the only loss suffered by Alabama.

Here are the athletes representing each school:


Senior, QB, AJ McCarron

Senior, LB, C.J. Mosley

Senior, OL, Anthony Steen


Senior, DE, Chris Smith

Senior, C, Travis Swanson

Senior, FB, Kiero Small


Senior, CB, Chris Davis

Senior, DE, Dee Ford

Senior, FB, Jay Prosch


Junior, QB, Jeff Driskel

Senior, DL, Dominique Easley

Senior, OL, Jon Halapio


Senior, TE, Arthur Lynch

Senior, QB, Aaron Murray

Senior, DE, Garrison Smith


Senior, DT, Donte Rumph

Senior, RB, Raymond Sanders

Senior, LB, Avery Williamson


Junior, WR, Jarvis Landry

Senior, S, Craig Loston

Senior, QB, Zach Mettenberger

Ole Miss

Junior, WR, Donte Moncrief

Senior, LB, Mike Marry

Junior, QB, Bo Wallace

Mississippi State

Junior, DL, Kaleb Eulls

Sophomore, LB, Benardrick McKinney

Senior, QB, Tyler Russell


Senior, QB, James Franklin

Senior, WR, L'Damian Washington

Senior, LB, Andrew Wilson

South Carolina

Junior, DE, Jadeveon Clowney

Junior, WR/KR, Bruce Ellington

Senior, QB, Connor Shaw


Junior, OL, Antonio Richardson

Senior, OL, Ja'Wuan James

Senior, DL, Jacques Smith

Texas A&M

Senior, DB, Toney Hurd, Jr.

Sophomore, QB, Johnny Manziel

Senior, OT, Jake Matthews


Senior, CB, Andre Hal

Senior, OT, Wesley Johnson

Senior, WR, Jordan Matthews

BamaMag Top Stories