Our Nominees At SEC Media Days

We have noted over the years that a very small percentage of sportswriters and broadcasters attending Southeastern Conference Media Days bother to vote on the pre-season All-SEC team or the final West and East races and SEC champion. And we are usually in that majority that doesn't bother, particularly since the ballot has to be in before we have heard from about half the coaches.

This year, though, we have made our rare selections, including selecting Alabama to win the SEC championship over Georgia (our Eastern Division pick). That part was pretty easy because prior to the start of the meeting Tuesday, we had determined our final predictions.

The pre-season All-SEC team took a little more study. That's partly because I can't remember for sure which top players have returned for this season. But I worked through it.

We'll find out Thursday, the final day of the event at Hoover in suburban Birmingham, how my picks mesh with however many others bother to vote.

I did pick a number of Alabama players for the pre-season All-SEC team, but that's because I think the Crimson Tide of Coach Nick Saban (who, by the way, addresses the journalists and broadcasters Thurdsay) has more good football players than any other team.

Our Alabama selections include offensive linemen Cyrus Kouandjio and Anthony Steen, wide receiver Amari Cooper, and tailback T.J. Yeldon on offense. On defense we have defensive lineman Xzavier Dickson (Bama nominated him as a defensive end), linebackers C.J. Mosley and Adrian Hubbard, and defensive back HaHa Clinton-Dix. We also picked Cody Mandell as the All-SEC punter.

Here are all our picks:


WR – Amari Cooper, Alabama

WR – Jordan Matthews, Vanderbilt

TE – Austin Tate, Arkansas

OL – Cyrus Kouandjio, Alabama

OL – Anthony Steen, Alabama

OL – Jake Matthews, Texas A&M

OL – Gabe Jackson, Mississippi State

C –Travis Swanson, Arkansas

QB – Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M

RB – T.J. Yeldon, Alabama

RB – Todd Gurley, Georgia


DL – Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina

DL – Anthony Johnson, LSU

DL – Xzavier Dickson, Alabama

DL – Dominique Easley, Florida

LB – C.J. Mosley, Alabama

LB – Adrian Hubbard, Alabama

LB – Denzel Nkemdiche, Ole Miss

DB – HaHa Clinton-Dix, Alabama

DB – Damian Swann, Georgia

DB – E.J. Gaines, Missouri

DB – Craig Loston, LSU


P – Cody Mandell, Alabama

PK – James Hairston, LSU





Texas A&M

Ole Miss


Mississippi State




South Carolina






BamaMag Top Stories