Tide Gets Media Nod For SEC Title

Alabama is the pick for the fifth time in the 22 years that journalists have selected a pre-season Southeastern Conference champion. Although the Crimson Tide has won four of those championship games, including the first one and last year's, Bama has never won the title in the years it was the favorite.

Alabama was the overwhelming selection to win the championship with 182 of the 243 voters naming the Crimson Tide to take the championship. Georgia – the team Bama defeated for last year's crown – was second with 38 votes, followed by South Carolina with 18, Texas A&M with four, and LSU with one.

Bama was also the clear favorite to win the SEC Western Division championship with 225 votes. Alabama was followed in the voting by Texas A&M, LSU, Ole Miss, Auburn, Mississippi State, and Arkansas.

Georgia was the favorite for the Eastern Division title with 149 votes. The Bulldogs were followed by South Carolina, Florida, Vanderbilt, Tennessee, Missouri, and Kentucky.

The SEC Championship Game will be Dec. 7 at the Georgia Dome in Atlanta. Alabama was a 4-4 record in SEC title games.

BamaMag Top Stories