Mosley Tops Vote On Pre-Season Team

Somebody's got some 'splaining to do. No one has a problem with only 243 of the record 1,239 accredited journalists at Southeastern Conference Media Days bothering to vote for a pre-season All-SEC team. In fact, the 243 voters was also an all-time high, a little better than 222 last year.

But who is voting who doesn't know about Alabama linebacker C.J. Mosley or South Carolina defensive end Jadeveon Clowney? Mosley was the top vote-getter with 231, Clowney second with 223. Since 2000, Darren McFadden is the only unanimous selection, and McFadden got only 80 votes.

Alabama had the most first-team selections this season with seven. Since 1992, the most players on a first-team were nine by Alabama in 2011 and eight by Alabama (2010) and Florida (2009).

In addition to Mosley, Alabama was represented on the first team by tailback T.J. Yeldon, wide receiver Amari Cooper, offensive tackle Cyrus Kouandjio, offensive guard Anthony Steen, safety HaHa Clinton-Dix, and cornerback Deion Belue.

Alabama players making second team were quarterback A.J. McCarron, linebacker Adrian Hubbard, safety Vinnie Sunseri, and three defensive linemen – Xzavier Dickson, Ed Stinson, and Jeoffrey Pagan.

Tight end Brian Vogler and linebacker Trey DePriest were on the third team.

BamaMag Top Stories