Alabama Dominates Coaches All-SEC

A few years ago, Auburn won the BCS National Championship in football. And yet, at the end of the season, Southeastern Conference coaches didn't vote Auburn Coach Gene Chiszik SEC Coach of the Year. It was as if the coaches knew something the rest of us only suspected.

One could hardly help but be reminded of that when SEC coaches selected their 2013 pre-season All-SEC Football Team. It was not a surprise that Alabama, defending SEC champion and winner of the last two national championships, dominated the team with 16 selections. It was not a surprise that Bama placed a league-high five on the first team, along with seven on second team and four on the third team.

The surprise was at quarterback. Johnny Manziel of Texas A&M won the Heisman Trophy last year as a freshman, and yet he is not the pre-season All-SEC first team quarterback by the coaches. Manziel, of course, has had much publicized off-season issues, including allegations that he signed autographs for money in violation of NCAA rules.

In any event, the coaches, choosing a pre-season team for the 11th year, went with Georgia quarterback Aaron Murray as the first teamer.

Bama's 16 honorees was a total equal to that of the next two combined, Georgia and LSU both having eight receive recognition. Florida and Tennessee had seven each.

Eleven of the 14 SEC schools had a representative on the first-team, while every institution had at least two players named to one of the three units.

Coaches were not permitted to vote for their own players.

Alabama's five first team selections were soph wide receiver Amari Cooper, soph tailback T.J. Yeldon, junior offensive tackle Cyrus Kouandjio, senior linebacker C.J. Mosley, and junior safety HaHa Clinton-Dix.

On second teams, Bama had three defensive linemen (senior Ed Stinson, junior Jeoffrey Pagan, junior Xzavier Dickson), junior linebacker Adrian Hubbard, senior cornerback Deion Belue, senior offensive guard Anthony Steen, and senior punter Cody Mandell.

The Tiders on the third team were senior quarterback A.J. McCarron, junior tight end Brian Vogler, junior linebacker Trey DePriest, and junior safety Vinnie Sunseri.

LSU junior Odell Beckham Jr. was named to all three teams at three different positions, while Florida junior Ronald Powell was elected to the third team at both linebacker and defensive lineman by the SEC head coaches.

The 2013 SEC Coaches' Pre-Season All-SEC Football Team



QB - Aaron Murray, Georgia

RB - Todd Gurley, Georgia

RB - T.J. Yeldon, Alabama

WR - Amari Cooper, Alabama

WR - Jordan Matthews, Vanderbilt

TE - Arthur Lynch, Georgia

OL - Jake Matthews, Texas A&M

OL - Cyrus Kouandjio, Alabama

OL – Gabe Jackson, Mississippi State

OL - Antonio Richardson, Tennessee

C - Travis Swanson, Arkansas


QB - Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M

RB - LaDarius Perkins, Mississippi State

RB - Tre Mason, Auburn

WR - Mike Evans, Texas A&M

WR - Donte Moncrief, Ole Miss

TE - Rory Anderson, South Carolina

OL - Anthony Steen, Alabama

OL - Ja'Wuan James, Tennessee

OL - Wesley Johnson, Vanderbilt

OL - *A.J. Cann, South Carolina

OL - *Chris Burnette, Georgia

OL - *Zach Fulton, Tennessee

OL - *Jon Halapio, Florida

C - Reese Dismukes, Auburn


QB - AJ McCarron, Alabama

RB - Alfred Blue, LSU

RB - Keith Marshall, Georgia

WR - *Odell Beckham Jr., LSU

WR - *Malcolm Mitchell, Georgia

WR - *Dorial Green-Beckham, Missouri

TE - *Brian Vogler, Alabama

TE - *C.J. Uzomah, Auburn

OL - La'el Collins, LSU

OL - David Hurd, Arkansas

OL - Justin Britt, Missouri

OL - Aaron Morris, Ole Miss

C - James Stone, Tennessee



DL - Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina

DL - Dominique Easley, Florida

DL - Anthony Johnson, LSU

DL - Chris Smith, Arkansas

LB - C.J. Mosley, Alabama

LB - A.J. Johnson, Tennessee

LB - Denzel Nkemdiche, Ole Miss

DB - HaHa Clinton-Dix, Alabama

DB - Craig Loston, LSU

DB - Andre Hal, Vanderbilt

DB - Loucheiz Purifoy, Florida


DL - Kelcy Quarles, South Carolina

DL - Daniel McCullers, Tennessee

DL - *Ed Stinson, Alabama

DL - *Xzavier Dickson, Alabama

DL - *Jeoffrey Pagan, Alabama

LB - Lamin Barrow, LSU

LB - Jordan Jenkins, Georgia

LB - Adrian Hubbard, Alabama

DB - Damian Swann, Georgia

DB - Marcus Roberson, Florida

DB - E.J. Gaines, Missouri

DB - Deion Belue, Alabama


DL - *Dee Ford, Auburn

DL - *C.J. Johnson, Ole Miss

DL - *Ronald Powell, Florida

DL - *Alvin Dupree, Kentucky

DL - *Denico Autry, Mississippi State

LB - Avery Williamson, Kentucky

LB - Benardrick McKinney, Mississippi State

LB - *Ronald Powell, Florida

LB - *Trey DePriest, Alabama

DB - Deshazor Everett, Texas A&M

DB - Nickoe Whitley, Mississippi State

DB - Vinnie Sunseri, Alabama

DB - Charles Sawyer, Ole Miss



PK - Carey Spear, Vanderbilt

P - Kyle Christy, Florida

RS - Odell Beckham Jr., LSU

AP – Bruce Ellington, South Carolina


PK - Cody Parkey, Auburn

P - *Tyler Campbell, Ole Miss

P - *Cody Mandell, Alabama

P - *Steven Clark, Auburn

RS - Marcus Murphy, Missouri

AP - Odell Beckham Jr., LSU


PK - *Andrew Baggett, Missouri

PK - *Zach Hocker, Arkansas

P - Michael Palardy, Tennessee

RS - Bruce Ellington, South Carolina

AP - LaDarius Perkins, Mississippi State

* - Ties

BamaMag Top Stories