McCarron, Norwood Senior Connection

When Kevin Norwood pulled in a 28-yard touchdown pass from fellow senior AJ McCarron to end the third quarter of Alabama's 49-0 win over Chattanooga, it marked the fourth consecutive game Norwood had scored. He now has 11 career touchdowns, six this season.

Another nice Alabama Senior Day feature was allowing senior quarterback A.J. McCarron to throw a pass to his brother, walkon sophomore Corey. The pass gained three yards. Three plays later quarterback McCarron connected with Amari Cooper on a 38-yard touchdown for a 35-0 Bama lead, which ended AJ's day.

Alabama starters held out of the game with injuries were cornerback Deion Belue (a senior), tailback T.J. Yeldon, and tight end Brian Vogler.

At the end of the third quarter, Alabama was eight yards shy of averaging 10 yards per play. The Tide had amassed 362 yards on 37 plays. The Tide finished the game with 52 plays for 435 yards, 8.4 yards per play.

Chattanooga had to have a bad feeling on several fronts Saturday. One of them would have been being behind Alabama by 28-0 at the half. Alabama has had the lead in 76 games at intermission under Saban and the Crimson Tide has a record of 73-3 in those games.

When sophomore tailback Kenyan Drake scored on a 13-yard run on Bama's first possession, it marked the 167th consecutive game the Tide has scored. That is an ongoing Alabama record.

Alabama has won all 12 meetings with the Chattanooga Mocs. The Crimson Tide has a 9-0 record in Tuscaloosa and a 3-0 mark in Birmingham.

With the win against Chattanooga, Alabama secured its 11th victory of the season, marking the 17th time in its program history that the Tide achieved the feat. Under Saban, Alabama has had five 11-win seasons (2008-09, 2011-13).

In the last five years, the Crimson Tide defense has held its opponents below 100 yards rushing in 43 of 64 games (67.2 per cent). Alabama held 11 teams below 100 yards rushing in 2009; 10 in 2011; 11 in 2012; and six so far in 2013. The Mocs finished the game with 93 yards on the ground.

In the past nine games, or 36 quarters of play, the Alabama defense has surrendered just five touchdowns (1 at Kentucky, 1 vs. Tennessee, 2 vs. LSU and 1 at Mississippi State). In those nine games, the Tide is allowing 5.6 points per contest.

Under Saban, the Tide has held opponents to 10 points or fewer 49 times since the start of the 2007 season. Alabama has held 9-of-11 opponents to 10 points or less in 2013 after limiting seven of its opponents to 10 points or less in 2012, four of which were shutouts. The Tide was successful in holding opponents in the 0-10 point range in nine games in 2011 and eight times in 2010. Alabama limited opponents to that range seven times in both 2008 and 2009, and in 2007 posted two games in which it held opponents to 0-10 points. With Saturday's 49-0 victory, Alabama has shut out the opposition 13 times during the Saban era, including three times this year.

Alabama shut out Ole Miss (25-0) and Arkansas (52-0) prior to the blanking of the Mocs.

Alabama scored seven touchdowns in the 49-0 win over Chattanooga with each of those scores coming from a different person. The Crimson Tide had four rushing touchdowns, one each from Chris Black, Kenyan Drake, Dee Hart and Derrick Henry, two receiving touchdowns from Amari Cooper and Kevin Norwood and one punt returned for a touchdown from Christion Jones.

Junior wide receiver Christion Jones recorded his second punt return for a touchdown of the season, going 75 yards for the score. Coincidentally, it was also the first punt return for a touchdown given up by Chattanooga since its matchup with Alabama in 2009 when Javier Arenas scored on the 66-yard return.

Jones's punt return marked the 35th non-offensive touchdown for Bama in the Saban era. Since Saban took over in 2007, the Crimson Tide has 15 interception returns, nine punt returns, five kickoff returns, three fumble returns, and three blocked punt returns for touchdowns.

Alabama's seniors and their families were recognized prior to kickoff of their final game in Bryant-Denny Stadium. They are:

Wide receiver Kenny Bell, cornerback Deion Belue, kicker Cade Foster, cornerback John Fulton, punter Cody Mandell, quarterback AJ McCarron, linebacker C.J. Mosley, wide receiver Kevin Norwood, linebacker Tana Patrick, guard Anthony Steen, defensive end Ed Stinson, linebacker Matt Tinney, wide receiver Jared Watson, wide receiver Jeremy Watson, and offensive lineman Kellen Williams.

The seniors served as game captains, although those representing the Tide at the coin toss were Steen, Patrick, McCarron, and Mosley.

Honorary captains for the Tide were former players Matt Caddell and Mike Johnson.

BamaMag Top Stories