McCarron Finalist For Player Of Year

When Alabama lost to Auburn Saturday, the Crimson Tide's first loss of the season, the general consensus was that not only did Bama lose its chance for a third consecutive national championship, but also that quarterback AJ McCarron may have lost his chance to win the Heisman Trophy. That may or may not be true.

On Wednesday, though, it was revealed that Alabama senior quarterback A.J. McCarron is one of five finalists for the Walter Camp Player of the Year.

No one would suggest that McCarron was responsible for Alabama's loss, only the third he has suffered as the Crimson Tide quarterback. Counting 2009, when he was a true freshman and being redshirted, he has been a part of teams that have won three national championships. McCarron was Bama's back-up quarterback to Greg McElroy in 2009, but did not have to see action in that 14-0 season and thus had four years eligibility remaining.

After serving as back-up again in 2010, McCarron took the reins to lead the Tide to national championships in 2011 (when he was offensive most valuable player in the BCS National Championship Game) and again in 2012.

The Mobile native is joined as a Walter Camp finalist by Jordan Lynch (Northern Illinois), Johnny Manziel (Texas A&M), Jameis Winston (Florida State), and Andre Williams (Boston College).

McCarron has now been selected as a finalist for the Maxwell Award, the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award, the Davey O'Brien Award, the Manning Award, the Senior CLASS Award, and the Walter Camp Player of the Year.

Including this year's current 11-1 mark, McCarron has a 36-3 record as Bama's starting quarterback. The 36 wins are the most in Alabama history for starting quarterback vicories and third best in Southeastern Conference history.

McCarron also has seven career victories against top 10 teams, including those over previously ranked number one teams LSU in the 2011 BCS National Championship Game and Notre Dame in last season's national title game.

This year, McCarron is completing 67.6 percent of his passes (207-305) this year for 2,676 yards, 26 touchdowns and five interceptions in 2013 while ranking ninth nationally in passing efficiency (165.9) and 14th in completion percentage.

The 2013 Walter Camp Player of the Year recipient, who is voted on by the Football Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors, will be announced on Thursday, Dec. 12, during the 5 p.m. (CST) edition of ESPN SportsCenter.

BamaMag Top Stories