McCarron Wins Maxwell Award

Alabama quarterback AJ McCarron was announced as the Maxwell Award winner as college player of the year Thursday night in Orlando. He previously had been announced as winner of the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award as the nation's best senior quartrback and on Saturday he will be in New York as one of six finalists for the Heisman Trophy.

Alabama quarterback A.J. McCarron was presented with the 77th Maxwell Award at the college football awards show in Orlando, Fla., Thursday night.

He is the first Crimson Tide player to receive the award.

McCarron has been the starting quarterback on two national championship teams (2011 and 2012) and has been a part of three as he was a redshirt freshman on the 2009 Alabama championship team. As a starting quarterback he has a record of 36-3. His 36 victories is the Bama record for a starting quarterback and is third most in Southeastern Conference history.

McCarron and his teammates have one more game this season. The Tide, ranked third in the nation, will finish up in the Sugar Bowl on Jan. 2 against Oklahoma.

"This is an honor to be here," said McCarron as he was presented the award. "This is awesome. I cannot thank my teammates enough. They made this all possible."

The Tide signal-caller has thrown for 2,676 yards and 26 touchdowns in 2013, completing 67.6 per cent (207-305) of his passes. McCarron ranks eighth nationally in passing efficiency (165.9) and 14th in completion percentage. He set several Alabama records throughout the season, including career passing yards (8,632 yards), total offense (8,625 yards) and career completions (667 passes).

BamaMag Top Stories