Walter Camp Honors Tide All-Americans

Alabama had a pair of standouts at the annual Walter Camp All-American National Awards Dinner at Yale University over the weekend. was in attendance and spoke with both AJ McCarron and Cyrus Kouandjio exclusively.

Alabama First Team Walter Camp All-Americans A.J. McCarron and Cyrus Kouandjio attended the 47th annual National Awards Dinner at Yale University in New Haven, Conn. Saturday. The third Tide representative, C.J. Mosley, a repeat honoree from 2012, was absent from the formal gala, which attracted a capacity crowd of 1,200 for the 124th edition of the nation's most tenured All-America team.

Walter Camp, the distinguished "Father of Football", named his inaugural All-America team in 1889, three years prior to Alabama assembling a squad in 1892.

Forty-eight former Crimson Tide football players from the past and present have been so designated with First Team recognition by the prestigious organization. Six were two-time selections increasing the total number to 54 – linebacker, C.J. Mosley (2013 & 2012), tackle/center, Barrett Jones (2012 & 2011), linebacker, Cornelius Bennett (1986 & 1985), safety, Tommy Wilcox (1982 & 1981), linebacker, Thomas Boyd (1981 & 1980), and running back, Johnny Musso (1971 & 1970).

Highly acclaimed AJ McCarron is only the second quarterback in the school's illustrious history, preceded by Riley Smith (1935), to be chosen as the Walter Camp All-America signal caller. Cyrus Kouandjio is the seventh Tide tackle, three during the Nick Saban era (Barrett Jones, 2011, Andre Smith 2009) to achieve the distinction. The four others are Chris Samuels (1999), Cecil Dowdy (1966), Billy Neighbors (1961) and the initial Walter Camp All-America representing Alabama, Fred Sington (1930).

Two additional prominent Alabama affiliated individuals were present in the Nutmeg State. Duke University Coach David Cutcliffe (Alabama 1976 graduate) was the Coach of the Year recipient. Dee Foster Worley, a 17-time All-America Tide gymnast, accompanied her husband, 1988 All-America running back from Georgia, Tim Worley.

McCarron with Foster Worley, Cutcliffe and Kouandjio

Watch 'BAMA Magazine/'s exclusive video interviews with AJ McCarron and Cyrus Kouandjio from the site of the Walter Camp Football Foundation weekend in New Haven, Conn.

Alabama First Team WCAA – 48; twice honored: C.J. Mosley, Barrett Jones, Cornelius Bennett, Tommy Wilcox, Thomas Boyd, and Johnny Musso)

C.J. Mosley, LB, 2013, 2012

AJ McCarron, QB, 2013

Cyrus Kouandjio, T, 2013

Chance Warmack, G, 2012

Barrett Jones, C/T, 2012, 2011

Dee Milliner, DB, 2012

Trent Richardson, RB, 2011

Dont'a Hightower, LB, 2011

Mark Barron, DB, 2011

Mike Johnson, G, 2009

Mark Ingram, RB, 2009

Terrence Cody, DL, 2009

Rolando McClain, LB, 2009

Andre Smith, T, 2008

DeMeco Ryans, LB, 2005

Chris Samuels, T, 1999

Kevin Jackson, DB, 1996

Antonio Langham, DB, 1993

John Copeland, DE, 1992

Eric Curry, DE, 1992

Philip Doyle, PK, 1990

Keith McCants, LB, 1989

Derrick Thomas, LB, 1988

Bobby Humphrey, RB, 1987

Cornelius Bennett, LB, 1986, 1985

Tommy Wilcox, DB, 1982, 1981

Thomas Boyd, LB, 1981, 1980

E.J. Junior, DE, 1980

Ozzie Newsome, WR, 1977

Leroy Cook, DE, 1975

Woodrow Lowe, LB, 1974

Wayne Wheeler, WR, 1973

John Hannah, G, 1972

Johnny Musso, RB, 1971, 1970

Mike Hall, LB, 1968

Dennis Homan, WR, 1967

Bobby Johns, DB, 1967

Ray Perkins, WR, 1966

Cecil Dowdy, T, 1966

Paul Crane, C, 1965

Lee Roy Jordan, C, 1962

William Neighbors, T, 1961

Joseph Domnanovich, C, 1942

Holt Rast, End, 1941

Riley Smith, QB, 1935

Donald Hutson, End, 1934

John Lewis Cain, FB, 1932

Frederick Sington, T, 1930

Alabama WCAA Second Team – 9 (1999-present)

D.J. Fluker, T, 2012

Courtney Upshaw, LB, 2011

William Vlachos, C, 2011

Robert Lester, DB, 2010

Javier Arenas, DB, 2009

Leigh Tiffin, PK, 2009

Terrence Cody, DL, 2008

Rashad Johnson, DB, 2008

Shaun Alexander, RB, 1999

John Garcia Jr. contributed to this report.

BamaMag Top Stories