Alabama Top Seed In SEC Tournament

As anyone who follows the sport at all knows, Alabama is the number one seed in the 10-team Southeastern Conference Softball Tournament. The Tide won the SEC regular season title in Columbia, Mo., and now heads to the SEC Tournament in Columbia, S.C.

While Alabama – picked to finish third in the conference in a pre-season poll of SEC coaches – won the regular season championship. The bracket is set for the 2014 SEC Softball Tournament in Columbia, S.C., and Alabama will enter the weekend as the No. 1 overall seed. Bama is 44-10 overall and 19-5 in SEC games.

Alabama has qualified for every SEC Tournament since the program's inception in 1997 and has now earned the No. 1 seed five times, last doing so in 2012. The Tide owns a 33-20 record overall in SEC Tournament play and has won five Tournament titles, taking home the trophy in 1998, 2003, 2005, 2010 and 2012.

Coach Patrick Murphy's Alabama squad secured its No. 1 seed this past weekend with two wins on the road against Missouri for Bama's fifth SEC Championship in regular season play. Alabama has won the SEC Championship and has earned a No. 1 seed in the conference tournament in four of the last five seasons.

The Crimson Tide's first game will be on Thursday at 5:30 p.m. CDT. Alabama will face the winner of Wednesday's matchup between tournament host South Carolina and Auburn. The winner of Alabama's game will go on to face either Florida or Georgia in the semifinals on Friday at 4:30 p.m. CDT. The Tournament Championship will be on Saturday at 7 p.m. CT.

Behind Alabama in the seeding are 2. Tennessee, 3. Missouri, 4. Florida, 5. Georgia, 6. LSU, 7. Kentucky, 8. South Carolina, 9. Auburn, and 10. Mississippi State.

Vanderbilt does not participate in softball. Not making the tournament field were Texas A&M, Ole Miss, and Arkansas.

The SEC Tournament Championship will be broadcast on ESPN 2 while every other game of the tournament will be broadcast on ESPNU.

2014 SEC Tournament Schedule?Wednesday

Game One - #7 Kentucky vs. #10 Mississippi State – 4 p.m. ET / 3 p.m. CT (ESPNU)

Game Two - #8 South Carolina vs. #9 Auburn – 6:30 p.m. ET / 5:30 p.m. CT (ESPNU)

Thursday

Game Three - #3 Missouri vs. #6 LSU – 11 a.m. ET / 10 a.m. CT (ESPNU)

Game Four - #2 Tennessee vs. Game One Winner – 1:30 p.m. ET / 12:30 p.m. CT (ESPNU)

Game Five - #4 Florida vs. #5 Georgia – 4 p.m. ET / 3 p.m. CT (ESPNU)

Game Six - #1 Alabama vs. Game Two Winner – 6:30 p.m. ET / 5:30 p.m. CT (ESPNU)

Friday

Game Seven – Game Three Winner vs. Game Four Winner – 3 p.m. ET / 2 p.m. CT (ESPNU)

Game Eight – Game Five Winner vs. Game Six Winner – 5:30 p.m. ET / 4:30 p.m. CT (ESPNU) Saturday

SEC Championship – Game Seven Winner vs. Game Eight Winner – 8 p.m. ET / 7 p.m. CT (ESPN 2)


BamaMag Top Stories