Tide Softball Coaching Staff Region Honorees

After guiding Alabama to its ninth Women's College World Series and earning the team's fifth SEC Championship in 2014, the Crimson Tide coaching staff has been named the NFCA South Region Coaching Staff of the Year, announced Wednesday.

Head Coach Patrick Murphy, Associate Head Coach Alyson Habetz, Assistant Coaches Stephanie VanBrakle and Adam Arbour, and Director of Operations Kate Harris completed their third season together. The current staff has won this award twice in those three seasons. Overall, this is Alabama's ninth South Region Coaching Staff of the Year award (2000, 2003, 2006, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2014).

This season was Murphy's 16th as the Crimson Tide's head coach, as he now owns an 842-226 (.788) record at Alabama. Habetz joined as an assistant coach in 1999, Murphy's first season as head coach, and was promoted to the associate head coach position in 2007. VanBrakle and Arbour joined the staff in 2012, helping guide the program to its first-ever national championship, while Harris has been the team's director of operations since 2011.

This season, Alabama finished with a 53-13 record as the Tide made its ninth appearance in the Women's College World Series. It was the ninth season in the last 10 years with at least 50 wins and its 10th-consecutive Top 10 finish, ending the season ranked at No. 2. The Tide won its fifth SEC Championship, owning a 19-5 mark in conference play, with four players earning All-SEC accolades and Murphy being named SEC Coach of the Year.

The SEC and the Pac-12 were the only two conferences with multiple selections. The University of Kentucky was named the Southeast Coaching Staff of the Year and the National Coaching Staff of the Year for guiding the Wildcats to their first-ever Women's College World Series appearance.

NFCA Regional Coaching Staffs of the Year

Central Region – Oklahoma

Great Lakes Region – Michigan

Mid-Atlantic Region – Notre Dame

Mideast Region – Tulsa

Midwest Region – Nebraska

Northeast Region – James Madison University

Pacific Region – Oregon

South Region – Alabama

Southeast Region – Kentucky (National Coaching Staff of the Year)

West Region – UCLA

BamaMag Top Stories