Bednarik Watch List Has Three Tide Defenders

A trademark of Alabama football teams under Nick Saban is that the Crimson Tide always ranks at or near the top in key defensive statistics. The Maxwell Football Club of Philadelphia, which presents the Bednarik Award to the nation’s best defensive player, would likely expect another good defensive unit from Bama this year.

Three Alabama players were among those named to the Bednarik Award watch list.

Upcoming senior inside linebacker Trey DePriest, junior safety Landon Collins, and sophomore end A'Shawn Robinson are Crimson Tide defenders selected for the list.

The Bednarik Award has been presented to the College Defensive Player of the Year since 1995. Chuck Bednarik, former standout at Penn and with the Philadelphia Eagles, is a member of both the College Football Hall of Fame's Class of '69 and the NFL Hall of Fame's Class of '67.

The Bednarik watch list features three of last season's semifinalists, Clemson DE Vic Beasley, Oregon CB Ifo Ekpre-Olomu, and USC DE Leonard Williams. Georgia landed three linebackers on the list, Leonard Floyd, Jordan Jenkins, and Ramik Wilson. And despite Stanford losing four of its best defensive players to the NFL Draft, the Cardinal still leads all teams with four players represented.

Semifinalists for the Bednarik Award will be announced November 3,, and the three finalists will be unveiled November 24. The winner will be announced as part of the College Football Awards Show held on December 11. The formal presentation will be made at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Gala hosted by Revel Casino Hotel Atlantic City on March 6, 2015.

The watch list candidates have been chosen by the Maxwell Football Club's selection committee, which analyzes both past performance and future potential. The Club reserves the right to make additions and deletions to these lists as the 2014 season unfolds. All members of the Maxwell Football Club, NCAA sports information directors, FBS head coaches, and selected national media are eligible to vote for the award.

BamaMag Top Stories