Watch Lists Include More Tide Players

A’Shawn Robinson has now been placed on more watch lists for 2014 college football awards than Robinson has started college football games. To be sure, no one considered Robinson a bench-warmer in a freshman season in which he was a consensus Freshman All-America, and expectations are soaring as he prepares for his sophomore season.

Two more watch lists were announced Thursday and both included outstanding Alabama defensive lineman A'Shawn Robinson. The Bronko Nagurski Trophy is presented to the nation’s most outstanding defensive player, while the Outland Trophy goes to the nation’s top lineman.

The Nagurski award has the same criteria as the Bednarik Award, announced earlier, and the same three Alabama players are on both watch lists. In addition to Robinson, the Nagurski’s 81 players on the watch list include Crimson Tide safety Landon Collins and Bama linebacker Trey DePriest.

The Nagurski Trophy is presented by the Charlotte (N.C.) Touchdown Club and will be announced Nov. 20 with presentation in Charlotte on Dec. 8.

The awsard is named for Bronko Nagurski, an All-America defensive tackle and fullback in 1929. He went on to play for the Chicago Bears and is a member of the College and Pro Football Halls of Fame.

There has never been a winner from Alabama.

Last year’s winner of both the Nagurski and Outland trophies was Aaron Donald of Pittsburgh.

The Outland Trophy goes to the most outstanding interior lineman (offense or defense) as selected by the Football Writers Association of America.

In addition to Robinson, this year’s watch list includes Tide center Ryan Kelly and Bama offensive guard Arie Kouandjio. Kelly was previously announced as being on the watch list for the Rimington Award, given to the nation’s top center.

Although Robinson played in all 13 Alabama games last year, he had only two starts as a freshman.

The Outland Trophy is named for Dr. John H. Outland, an All-America tackle at the University of Pennsylvania in 1897 and the benefactor of the trophy.

Alabama has had three Outland winners, all offensive linemen. They are Chris Samuels in 1999, Andre Smith in 2008, and Barrett Jones in 2011.

The Outland semifinalists will be announced Nov. 20, the finalists Nov. 24, and the winner will be revealed at the College Football Awards Show from Orlando on Dec. 11.

BamaMag Top Stories