Robinson, Kouandjio Make Lombardi List

After a weekend absent the announcement of any watch lists for upcoming college football awards, on Monday morning the Rotary Lombardi Award committee in Houston announced it watch list for the top down lineman. One Alabama offensive lineman and one Crimson Tide defensive lineman were named.

The Lombardi Award watch list included 123 players from 76 universities. Alabama is represented by senior offensive guard Arie Kouandjio and sophomore defensive end A'Shawn Robinson.

Robinson previously was named to the watch lists for the Bednarik and Nagurski awards, both for the nation’s best defensive player, and the Outland Award for the nation’s best lineman; and Kouandjio was also on the Outland watch list.

The only Crimson Tide player to win the Lombardi Award was linebacker Cornelius Bennett in 1986.

Eligibility for the Rotary Lombardi Award is limited to down linemen, end-to-end, either on offense or defense, who set up no farther than 10 yards to the left or right of the ball, or linebackers who set up no farther than five yards deep from the line of scrimmage. The candidates earned a place on the preliminary watch list by earning All-America honors, being named to their respective all-conference teams, or receiving 2014 pre-season honors. The Rotary Lombardi Award Watch List will be updated prior to the start of the 2014 season in order to identify other players who have received significant pre-season honors.

While the Watch List highlights those players who have already received national recognition, any Division 1 player who meets the requirements is eligible for consideration from the Rotary Lombardi Selection Committee. This committee is comprised of more than 300 members, including all past winners and finalists, all Division 1 head coaches, and a panel of sportswriters and broadcasters.

The Rotary Lombardi Watch List, intended as a reference tool for the Selection Committee, will be periodically updated and revised through the conclusion of the voting to determine the 12 Semifinalists for 2014.

The 45th Rotary Lombardi Award will be held on Wednesday, December 10, at the Bayou Music Center in Houston.

BamaMag Top Stories