Media Selects Tide To Win SEC Championship

In media voting, Alabama has been selected to win the 2014 Southeastern Conference football championship and the Crimson Tide placed a team high 10 men on the Pre-Season All-SEC team.

Alabama was selected to win the SEC Western Division and was the leading vote-getter for the overall championship. South Carolina was picked to win the East, but Auburn – last year’s SEC titleist -- got the second number of votes for the championship.

The overall championship vote had Alabama with 154, Auburn with 75, South Carolina with 32, Georgia with 19, LSU with nine, Ole Miss with two, and Arkansas and Mississippi State with one each.

The predicted order of finish by media voters at SEC Media Days was:

West – 1. Alabama, 2. Auburn, 3. LSU, 4. Ole Miss, 5. Mississippi State, 6. Texas A&M, 7. Arkansas.

East – 1. South Carolina, 2. Georgia, 3. Florida, 4. Missouri, 5. Tennessee, 6. Vanderbilt, 7. Kentucky.

Alabama had the most first team All-SEC selections with nine. Since 1992 the most players on a first team were also nine by Alabama in 2011 and eight by Alabama in 2010 and by Florida in 2009. The Crimson Tide had one man (Christion Jones) who was first team in two special teams positions, returns and all-purpose.

The Tide put four men on the offensive first team – tailback T.J. Yeldon, wide receiver Amari Cooper, tight end O.J. Howard, and offensive lineman Arie Kouandjio. Center Ryan Kelly was second team and offensive lineman Austin Shepherd third team.

On defense, Alabama had three selections, all first-team picks. They are end A’Shawn Robinson, linebacker Trey DePriest, and safety Landon Collins.

There were 293 voters, the all-time high for SEC Media Days (the old record was 243 last year). Amari Cooper was the leading vote getter with 282, one more than T.J. Yeldon and two more than Todd Gurley of Georgia. This is the second consecutive year those three have been voted to the pre-season All-SEC team.


(Total points earned in parenthesis)



QB Nick Marshall, Auburn (241)

RB T.J. Yeldon, Alabama (281)

RB Todd Gurley, Georgia (280)

WR Amari Cooper, Alabama (282)

WR Sammie Coates, Auburn (207)

TE O.J. Howard, Alabama (188)

OL La'el Collins, LSU (231)

OL Arie Kouandjio, Alabama (188)

OL Laremy Tunsil, Ole Miss (183)

OL Cedric Ogbuehi, Texas A&M (174)

C Reese Dismukes, Auburn (226)


QB Dak Prescott, Mississippi State (118)

RB Mike Davis, South Carolina (240)

RB Alex Collins, Arkansas (126)

WR Laquon Treadwell, Ole Miss (182)

WR Malcolm Mitchell, Georgia (71)

TE C.J. Uzomah, Auburn (141)

OL A.J. Cann, South Carolina (166)

OL Vadal Alexander, LSU (112)

OL Alex Kozan, Auburn (112)

OL Corey Robinson, South Carolina (107)

C Ryan Kelly, Alabama (126)


QB Bo Wallace, Ole Miss (94)

RB Corey Grant, Auburn (52)

RB Keith Marshall, Georgia (44)

WR Jameon Lewis, Mississippi State (67)

WR Marquez North, Tennessee (66)

TE Hunter Henry, Arkansas (72)

OL Austin Shepherd, Alabama (106)

OL Chad Slade, Auburn (101)

OL John Theus, Georgia (96)

OL Chaz Green, Florida (94)

C Evan Boehm, Missouri (77)



DL Robert Nkemdiche, Ole Miss (239)

DL Dante Fowler, Jr., Florida (212)

DL A'Shawn Robinson, Alabama (208)

DL Gabe Wright, Auburn (192)

LB Trey DePriest, Alabama (253)

LB A.J. Johnson, Tennessee (186)

LB Ramik Wilson, Georgia (147)

DB Landon Collins, Alabama (274)

DB Vernon Hargreaves, III, Florida (243)

DB Cody Prewitt, Ole Miss (210)

DB Deshazor Everett, Texas A&M (183)


DL Trey Flowers, Arkansas (181)

DL Chris Jones, Mississippi State (150)

DL Alvin "Bud" Dupree, Kentucky (134)

DL Markus Golden, Missouri (125)

LB Benardrick McKinney, Mississippi State (143)

LB Jordan Jenkins, Georgia (137)

LB Denzel Nkemdiche, Ole Miss (116)

DB Robenson Therezie, Auburn (144)

DB Tre'Davious White, LSU (141)

DB Damian Swann, Georgia (127)

DB Tony Conner, Ole Miss (116)


DL Ray Drew, Georgia (102)

DL Montravius Adams, Auburn (94)

DL Carl Lawson, Auburn (87)

DL Jermauria Rasco, LSU (79)

LB Kwon Alexander, LSU (112)

LB Cassanova McKinzy, Auburn (82)

LB Serderius Bryant, Ole Miss (76)

DB Jon Mincy, Auburn (99)

DB Corey Thompson, LSU (86)

DB Rashard Robinson, LSU (84)

DB Brison Williams, South Carolina (81)



P Drew Kaser, Texas A&M (221)

PK Marshall Morgan, Georgia (224)

RS Christion Jones, Alabama (262)

AP Christion Jones, Alabama (130)


P Sam Irwin-Hill, Arkansas (136)

PK Colby Delahoussaye, LSU (142)

RS Andre Debose, Florida (97)

AP Terrence Magee, LSU (111)


P Jamie Keehn, LSU (81)

PK Andrew Baggett, Missouri (103)

RS Marcus Murphy, Missouri (72)

AP Trey Williams, Texas A&M (89)

BamaMag Top Stories