Alabama’s Big Three Watched By Walter Camp

Generally speaking, the watch lists announced over the past week or so for college football awards have been relatively predictable insofar as inclusion of Alabama football players.

It was no surprise that three of the most notable of upcoming Alabama football players were included when the Walter Camp Foundation announced its watch list for the Walter Camp Award, which will presented to the nation’s most outstanding player.

The three upcoming Crimson Tide juniors named to the watch list were:

Safety Landon Collins, wide receiver Amari Cooper, and tailback T.J. Yeldon.

At last week’s Southeastern Conference Media Days event, Cooper was the number one vote-getter for the pre-season all-star game with 282 of the 293 voters selecting him. Yeldon was second with 281. Collins was fourth overall and first among defensive players with 274.

The Walter Camp Award is named for the man called “The Father of American Football.” Walter Camp played ?at Yale from 1877-82 and is credited with creating many strategy features which led to the development of the organized game.

Alabama has never had a Walter Camp winner. Last year’s honoree was Jameis Winston of Florida State. As is often the case, the Walter Camp Award winner is the same as the Heisman Trophy winner.

Semifinalists will be announced Nov. 19, finalsists Dec. 3, and the winner will be announced at the College Football Awards Show Dec. 11. The presentation banquet in New Haven, Conn., will be Jan. 17, 2015.

BamaMag Top Stories