Tide Leads Way With Coaches All-SEC Picks

Alabama placed seven men on the 2014 All-Southeastern Conference Coaches’ Football Team, including a league-leading five on the first team. Missouri, the team the Crimson Tide defeated in the SEC Championship Game, also had seven on the first two teams.

Alabama, which finished the regular season with a 12-1 record, now moves to the College Football Playoff with a semifinal game against Ohio State in the Sugar Bowl on Jan. 1.

CLICK HERE for your amazing Sugar Bowl package.

('BamaMag members get 10% off their entire package)

Twelve of the 14 SEC schools had a member on the first team, and eight teams had four or more selections on the two teams selected. Coaches were not permitted to vote for their own players.

In fact, looking at some of the selections (and also at some left off, i.e. Jarran Reed and Reggie Ragland on neither first nor second team), it may have been that few, if any, coaches voted at all. This is a job frequently delegated to an underling.

Nevertheless, it is an honor, and those Alabama players honored with first team selection are:

Offensive lineman Arie Kouandjio, wide receiver Amari Cooper, linebacker Trey DePriest, safety Landon Collins, and freshman punter JK Scott.

Second team selections are quarterback Blake Sims and tailback T.J. Yeldon.

SEC individual award winners will be announced Thursday and the SEC All-Freshman Team will be revealed Thursday.


BamaMag Top Stories