Tide’s Amari Cooper Third For Heisman

Alabama junior wide receiver Amari Cooper was third in voting for the 80th edition of the Heisman Trophy Award. That equaled the previous high by a Crimson Tide wide receiver, David “The Deuce” Palmer was third in the 1993 voting.

Amari Cooper, who was recently selected both the Alabama most valuable player and the Southeastern Conference offensive player of the year, was one of three men invited to New York for Saturday night’s presentation. He was joined by quarterback Marcus Mariota of Oregon, winner of the 2014 Heisman Trophy, and tailback Melvin Gordon of Wisconsin, who finished second.

Cooper and his Crimson Tide teammates return to practice this week to prepare for the inaugural College Football Playoff. Bama will play a semifinal game Jan. 1 in the Sugar Bowl against Ohio State.

CLICK HERE for your amazing Sugar Bowl package.

Cooper received the second highest number of first place votes with 49. Points are tabulated three for first, two for second, one for first.

Cooper received 49 first-place, 280 second-place, and 316 third-place votes for a total of 1,023 points. Mariota won with 2,534 with Godon second with 1,250.

A total of 929 electors, 870 voters, 58 Heisman winners, and one fan ballot participated.

Cooper was listed on 69.43 per cent of the ballots . He finished second in the South (256) and third in every other region – Northeast (150), Mid-Atlantic (184), Southwest (173), Midwest (121) and Far West (139).

Cooper and Palmer along with former Tide running back, Trent Richardson (2011), were all third place finishers. Only two wide receivers have ever won the coveted trophy, Tim Brown of Notre Dame (1987) and Desmond Howard of Michigan (1991).

The reserved yet confident Cooper addressed the assembled media two hours before the televised presentation of college football’s most revered hardware given to an individual.

BamaMag Top Stories