Kelly, Howard Latest Tiders On Watch Lists

Over the next couple of weeks, Watch Lists are being revealed. Those are the lists of college football players who are pre-season selections of those who make post-season awards. Those who argue against preseason college football polls might resent the Watch Lists, but it’s likely that most winners come from the ranks of those who have earned the attention.

It is of absolutely no surprise that two Watch Lists announced Wednesday include Alabama football players.

The Rimington Trophy is awarded to the player deemed to be the nation’s best center, and Ryan Kelly, who will be Bama’s third-year starter at the position, is on the Watch List.

The John Mackey Award is for the nation’s top tight end and upcoming Alabama junior O.J. Howard is a nominee.

Alabama has never had a Mackey Award winner, but Tide star Barrett Jones was the Rimington Award winner in 2012.

Winners of the Mackey and Rimington awards will be announced Dec. 10 on the College Football Awards Show.

Previously announced Alabama players on watch lists are:

Maxwell Award for nation’s outstanding player – Derrick Henry.

Bednarik Award for nation’s outstanding defensive player – A'Shawn Robinson and Reggie Ragland.

Upcoming watch list announcements:

Thursday, Lou Groza Award for best placekicker and Ray Guy Award for best punter.

Friday, Bronko Nagurski Trophy for best defensive player and Outland Trophy for best interior lineman.

Monday, July 13, Jim Thorpe Award for best defensive back.

Tuesday, July 14, Butkus Award for best linebacker and Lombardi Award for best lineman.

Wednesday, July 15, Biletnikoff Award for best wide receiver and Wuerffel Trophy for athletics, academics, and community service.

Thursday, July 16, Davey O’Brien Award for best quarterback and Doak Walker Award for best running back.

Friday, July 17, Walter Camp Award for nation’s outstanding player.


BamaMag Top Stories