Scott No Surprise As Ray Guy Nominee

It was not surprising news that JK Scott did not win the Ray Guy Award following his freshman season, even though Scott probably was the best punter in the nation. It was less of a surprise that he is on the Ray Guy Watch List for this year’s award to be given to the best college punter in America in 2015.

JK Scott had the best punting performance in Alabama history last year as he led the nation in punting at 48 yards per kick and in net punting, 44.7 yards. He dropped 31 of his 55 punts (56.4 per cent) inside the opponent 20-yard line, also best in the nation.

Those numbers were better than any punter in the NFL in 2014.

He had 23 punts of over 50 yards, seven of those over 60 yards, and only 12 of his 55 punts were returned for a total of only 83 yards. He had only five touchbacks and 19 of his punts were fair caught.

The award is named in honor of Ray Guy, the only punter ever selected in the first round of the NFL draft. He was an All-America at Southern Miss and selected to seven Pro Bowls in his NFL career.

The Augusta (Ga.) Sports Council, which presents the Ray Guy Award, will announce semifinalists and finalists in November and the winner on the College Football Awards Show. The award will be presented in Augusta on in January.

Previously announced Alabama players on watch lists are:

Maxwell Award for nation’s outstanding player – Derrick Henry.

Bednarik Award for nation’s outstanding defensive player – A’Shawn Robinson and Reggie Ragland.

Rimington Award for nation’s best center – Ryan Kelly.

Mackey Award for nation’s best tight end – O.J. Howard.

Upcoming watch list announcements:

Friday, Bronko Nagurski Trophy for best defensive player and Outland Trophy for best interior lineman.

Monday, July 13, Jim Thorpe Award for best defensive back.

Tuesday, July 14, Butkus Award for best linebacker and Lombardi Award for best lineman.

Wednesday, July 15, Biletnikoff Award for best wide receiver and Wuerffel Trophy for athletics, academics, and community service.

Thursday, July 16, Davey O’Brien Award for best quarterback and Doak Walker Award for best running back.

Friday, July 17, Walter Camp Award for nation’s outstanding player.


BamaMag Top Stories