Tide Players Make Outland, Nagurski Lists

The first week of Watch Lists – those who are pre-season nominees as it were for various post-season college football awards – came to an end Friday with a handful of Alabama players being named to the Nagurski and Outland rolls.

Alabama nose tackle A'Shawn Robinson is on the watch list for for both the Bronko Nagurski Trophy for the nation’s best defensive player and the Outland Trophy for the nation’s best interior lineman.

Five other Crimson Tide players were named also named to one of the lists.

Named to the Nagurski list are end Jonathan Allen and linebacker Reggie Ragland. Both Robinson and Ragland had previously been named to the Bednarik Award, also given to the nation’s best defensive player.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy is presented by the Charlotte (N.C.) Touchdown Club in honor of the former Hall of Fame defensive tackle and fullback and the recipient is announced on Dec. 7.

Alabama has never had a Nagurski winner.

The Outland Trophy is selected by the Football Writers Association of America and is named for Dr. John H. Outland, an All-America tackle at Penn in 1897. The winner is announced Dec. 10 at the College Football Awards Show.

In addition to A’Shawn Robinson, Alabama players on the watch list are left tackle Cameron Robinson, center Ryan Kelly, and defensive end Jarran Reed.

Kelly is on the watch list for the Rimington Award given to the nation’s best center.

Alabama has had three Outland Award winners – Chris Samuels, Andre Smith, and Barrett Jones.

Previously announced Alabama players on watch lists are:

Maxwell Award for nation’s outstanding player – Derrick Henry.

Bednarik Award for nation’s outstanding defensive player – A’Shawn Robinson and Reggie Ragland.

Rimington Award for nation’s best center – Ryan Kelly.

Mackey Award for nation’s best tight end – O.J. Howard.

Ray Guy Award for best punter – JK Scott.

Watch list announcements continue next week. The schedule:

Monday, July 13, Jim Thorpe Award for best defensive back.

Tuesday, July 14, Butkus Award for best linebacker and Lombardi Award for best lineman.

Wednesday, July 15, Biletnikoff Award for best wide receiver and Wuerffel Trophy for athletics, academics, and community service.

Thursday, July 16, Davey O’Brien Award for best quarterback and Doak Walker Award for best running back.

Friday, July 17, Walter Camp Award for nation’s outstanding player.


BamaMag Top Stories