Tide Has Most Pre-Season All-SEC Selections

Alabama led the way in selections of the 2015 pre-season All-Southeastern Conference team as selected by journalists covering this week’s SEC Media Days at Hoover. The Crimson Tide had 12 men selected overall and six on the first team, both highs in the voters.

Alabama had six players selected for the first team, second on the second team, and four on the third.

The six members of the first team were offensive tackle Cameron Robinson, center Ryan Kelly, defensive lineman A'Shawn Robinson, linebacker Reggie Ragland, defensive back Cyrus Jones, and punter JK Scott. Running back Derrick Henry and defensive lineman Jonathan Allen were selected to the second team, while the four third-teamers were running back Kenyan Drake, tight end O.J. Howard, defensive lineman Jarran Reed, and defensive back Eddie Jackson.

All of those except Drake – who was a standout in interviews as one of Bama’s player representatives at the annual media event – had been expected to be named pre-season all-stars.

Since 1992, the most players selected pre-season first-team is nine by Alabama in 2011, followed by eight by Bama (2010) and Florida (2009).

LSU and Georgia were second to Bama in first team selections with four each. LSU and Auburn were second to the Tide in overall selections with 10 each.

LSU’s Leonard Fournette was named first team running back, second team all-purpose performer, and third team return specialist. Texas A&M’s Speedy Noil was first team return specialist and third team all-purpose.

No player was unanimous. The top vote-getters were running back Nick Chubb (Georgia), defensive back Vernon Hargreaves (Florida) and Alabama’s Ragland. Hargreaves was voted to the preseason media team in 2014 also.

Arkansas had six overall selections, four second team and two first team. Auburn’s 10 selections included three first team, two second team, and five third team. Florida had three men named, one each to first, second, and third teams. Georgia, the favorite to win the SEC Eastern Division, had seven selections (four first, two second, one third).

Kentucky had two third team selections. LSU’s 10 selections were three first teamers, three second teamers, four third teamers. Ole Miss had six selections, four firsts, one each on second and third. Mississippi State had five selections, quarterback Dak Prescott the lone first teamer, three seconds, one third.

Missouri, winner of the SEC East the past two years, had only a third team selection. South Carolina had one first team, three second, one third for five total. Tennessee had four selections, one first, two seconds, one third. Texas A&M had seven selections with two first team, three second, and two third. Vanderbilt did not have a player selected.

Alabama opens its 2015 season on Sept. 5 in Arlington, Texas, against Wisconsin at 7 p.m. CDT with television coverage by ABC.


BamaMag Top Stories