Alabama Hosts Jerry Pate At Old Overton

One of the top college golf tournaments marks its 30th year of competition this week as the Jerry Pate National Intercollegiate is played today and Tuesday at Old Overton Country Club in Birmingham.

The tournament over the 7,209-yard, par 70 course is hosted by Alabama and named and sponsored by former Crimson Tide golf star Jerry Pate, who was winner of both the U.S. Amateur during his Bama career and the United State Open as a PGA professional. He has since become a renowned golf course designer, including the site of this week's tournament, Old Overton.

Two rounds are being played today with the final 18-hole round of the 54-hole tournament played beginning at 8 a.m. CDT Tuesday. There is no admission charge.

Alabama is ranked 16th in the nation and is defending champion of the tournament, but faces a typically difficult field -- four nationally ranked teams, including No. 1 ranked Florida State. Auburn is ranked third and Florida 23rd. Other participating teams receiving votes in the latest poll are Baylor, Mississippi State, UAB, and Arkansas.

Alabama's starting lineup will include senior Tom Lovelady; junior Robby Shelton; sophomores Tyler Hitchner, and Steven Setterstrom; and freshman Davis Riley.

The Tide has captured three straight Jerry Pate Intercollegiate titles and has claimed the team title in seven of the last eight years (2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2012, 2013 and 2014).

The Jerry Pate Intercollegiate began back in 1986. Pate currently plays on the Champions Tour and is active in the team selection for the tournament.

Since its inception, the JPNI has seen some powerful names in the world of golf win its individual title. Current PGA Tour golfers, Michael Thompson, Bud Cauley, Hunter Mahan, Jordan Spieth, Rory Sabbatini and D.J. Trahan have all won medalist honors at the Pate, and arguably the greatest golfer of all-time, Tiger Woods, won the JPNI in 1994 while competing for Stanford. David Kirkpatrick (1991), Joseph Sykora (2006), Mark Harrell (2007), Hunter Hamrick (2009), and Justin Thomas (2012) all took medalist honors for Alabama.

BamaMag Top Stories