Notes From Alabama’s Romp Over LSU

LSU was ranked fourth in the nation in the Associated Press poll (and Alabama seventh). Even though the poll is somewhat irrelevant in the age of the College Football Playoff, Bama is now 36-13 (73.5 per cent) against AP top 25 teams since 20/07. The Tide is 20-7 (74.1 per cent) against AP top 10 teams in that time.

Alabama now has won twice as many games as the Tigers in the series. The Tide leads the series with LSU 50-25-5, which dates back to the 1895 season. The 2015 game was the 80th meeting between these two long-time Southern football rivals. Since 2005, the LSU-Alabama games have been true battles, with seven of those games being decided by seven points or less. During Coach Nick Saban’s tenure in Tuscaloosa, six of the nine duels between the two teams have been decided by that same narrow margin, with three of those games going into overtime.

Beginning with the BCS National Championship Game in the Sugar Bowl at the end of the 2011 season, the Tide has now won five consecutive games against the Tigers.  

Here are Alabama football notes following the Crimson Tide’s 30-16 win over LSU in Bryant-Denny Stadium Saturday night.

Alabama is an incredible 92-12 in its last 104 games.

Bama led LSU by 13-10 at the half. Alabama is 90-6 under Saban when leading at the half.

A highlight of the game was Bama’s Adam Griffith, who had struggled early in the season, connecting on a 55-yard field goal near the end of the first half. It gave Bama a 13-10 lead going to intermission. It was the longest field goal in Griffith’s Bama career, and tied for the second longest in Tide history. It matched the longest by an Alabama kicker not using a kicking tee (Ryan Pflugner in 1998 vs. Arkansas). The longest field goal in Alabama history is Van Tiffin’s 57-yarder against Texas A&M in 1985.

Griffith had made 13 of his last 15 field goal attempts, including his last seven tries.

With Griffith’s 22-yard field goal on Alabama’s first offensive drive of the second quarter of tonight’s game, the Crimson Tide has scored in the first half of its last 112 games, the longest streak in the nation. The last time UA failed to score in the first half was on Sept. 29, 2007, when Alabama and Florida State headed into halftime in a scoreless tie. The Seminoles won that game, 21-14. Alabama has a 96-16 record during the streak.

Alabama has now scored in 192 consecutive games – the longest streak in program history.

Derrick Henry’s three-touchdown performance was the third time he has accomplished that feat this season. He had three in the season-opener against Wisconsin and three vs. Middle Tennessee.

Henry’s 210-yard rushing performance was his 12th time to crack the century mark, including the sixth time this year.

Alabama is 74-4 since the start of the 2008 season when rushing for at least 140 yards. The only losses were at Auburn in 2013, Ole Miss and Ohio State in 2014, and Ole Miss in 2015.

Alabama limited LSU to 182 yards of total offense, the sixth time the Tide has kept a team under 300 in 2015. UA held Arkansas to 220 yards, Georgia to 299 yards, ULM to 92 yards of offense and also limited Middle Tennessee to 275 yards of offense, one week after holding Wisconsin to 268 yards of total offense in the season opener. In head coach Nick Saban’s 117-game tenure at Alabama, the Crimson Tide has limited opponents to under 300 yards of total offense 72 times, or 61.5 percent of the time. UA held six of its 14 opponents below 300 yards last season.

During Saban’s last 103 games at the Capstone (since the start of the 2008 season), the Crimson Tide defense has held the opposing offense to fewer than 200 yards of total offense 34 times, including twice this year (LSU – 182 yards, ULM – 92). The Tide accomplished the feat twice last season, including against Texas A&M on Oct. 18 and versus Florida Atlantic in a weather-shortened contest to open the home schedule on Sept. 6. Alabama limited opponents to 200 or less four times in 2013. In 2012, UA did so five times, and in 2011, the Tide accomplished the feat eight times, limiting Kent State to 90 yards and LSU to only 92 yards in the BCS Championship Game (the second and third times a Saban defense had limited its opponent to less than 100 yards of total offense). Alabama’s best came in 2009 when the Tide held Chattanooga to 84 yards of total offense. UA held opponents under 200 yards three times in 2010, four times in 2009 and six times in 2008.

Alabama has surrendered only 16 individual 100-yard rushing games dating back to the 2005 season, a mark that leads the nation. Since head coach Nick Saban’s arrival, the Tide has allowed only 11 players to rush for more than 100 yards in a game: Georgia’s Nick Chubb (146 on Oct. 3, 2015), Ohio State’s Ezekiel Elliot (230 on Jan. 1, 2015), Auburn’s Tre Mason (164 on Nov. 30, 2013), Virginia Tech’s Trey Edmunds (132 on Aug. 31, 2013), Georgia’s Todd Gurley (122 yards on Dec. 1, 2012), LSU’s Jeremy Hill (107 on Nov. 3, 2012), Georgia Southern’s Dominique Swope (153 on Nov. 19, 2011), Tennessee’s Tauren Poole (117 on Oct. 23, 2010), Ole Miss’s BenJarvus Green-Ellis (131 on Oct. 13, 2007), Houston’s Anthony Alridge (100 on Oct. 6, 2007) and Darren McFadden of Arkansas (195 on Sept. 15, 2007).

Dominick Jackson, who had suffered a sprained ankle against Tennessee, was in the starting lineup for Bama at right tackle. Two others injured vs. the Vols, safeties Eddie Jackson and Ronnie Harrison, were also in action.

Former Crimson Tide quarterback Kenny “Snake” Stabler, who died last summer, was recognized as an Alabama Legend In pre-game ceremonies in which an endowed scholarship was named for Stabler.

Captains for the Tide were defensive tackle Jarran Reed, linebacker Reggie Ragland, and tailback Derrick Henry.

BamaMag Top Stories