Stuart McNair

Alabama football has its annual awards banquet Sunday

Alabama players select junior tailback Derrick Henry as Crimson Tide’s most valuable player in 2015

Much of the talk in college football centers on the Heisman Trophy, given to the nation’s best football player. The Alabama Crimson Tide is in position to have the opportunity to have the nation’s best team, and may also have the best player.


That player, junior tailback Derrick Henry, was selected as a permanent captain and Alabama’s most valuable player by his teammates, and was also named along with senior center Ryan Kelly as the Crimson Tide’s offensive player of the year by the Bama staff.


The Alabama football team held its annual awards banquet Sunday evening at The Cahaba Grand Conference Center in suburban Birmingham.


Alabama head coach Nick Saban addressed an audience that included members of the team, coaching staff, administration, and support staff following the awards session in which he recapped the 2015 season and stated the goals for the upcoming semifinal game in The College Football Playoff semifinal against Michigan State at the Cotton Bowl Classic.


In addition to Henry and Kelly, Alabama’s 2015 permanent captains are senior quarterback Jake Coker and senior linebacker Reggie Ragland.


The award winners (frequently more than one per category):


Unsung Hero Award

To the player who has made significant contributions to the success of the team and received the least recognition for it

Ryan Anderson, Brandon Greene, Michael Nysewander, Tim Williams


Outstanding Senior Scholar

To the senior with the highest GPA

Jake Coker, Ryan Kelly (both of whom, along with 21 others, will earn degrees on Saturday with Coker and Kelly both receiving masters degrees in marketing)


Commitment to Academic Excellence Award

To the player who has demonstrated the greatest commitment and achievement in his academic endeavors during the previous year

Dakota Ball, Cooper Bateman, Shaun Dion Hamilton, Keith Holcombe, Ross Pierschbacher, JK Scott


Iron Man Award

To the player who has shown the most dedication to the individual and team goals of the Crimson Tide’s year-round strength and conditioning program

Darren Lake, Da’Ron Payne, Alphonse Taylor, Dalvin Tomlinson 


Most Inspiring Player

To the player who affects the whole team by his attitude as well as his performance (voted on by the players)

Michael Nysewander


Pat Trammel Award

To a senior player whose character and contributions to the Alabama Football Team most personify the All-American youth of today and has reflected qualities of Integrity, Character, Importance of Academics and Inspirational Leadership during their time at Alabama

Denzel Devall, Richard Mullaney


Outstanding Defensive Performer     

To the player with the most defensive production points

Reggie Ragland, Jarran Reed, A’Shawn Robinson


Up-Front Award

To the outstanding lineman from each unit

Jonathan Allen, Dominick Jackson, Ryan Kelly, Ross Pierschbacher


Defensive Achievement Award

To the player who has played a critical role in the effectiveness of this unit 

Reuben Foster, Marlon Humphrey, D.J. Pettway, Geno Matias-Smith


Offensive Achievement Award

To the player who has played a critical role in the effectiveness of this unit

Jake Coker, O.J. Howard, Calvin Ridley, ArDarius Stewart


President’s Award    

To a player from each unit who has shown perseverance in making outstanding contributions to the team’s success

Kenyan Drake, Eddie Jackson, Cyrus Jones, Cam Robinson


Jefferson County Distinguished Alumnus Award

A former player who has exemplified the principles, values, character and attitude that make a person successful either during a particular life experience or over a period of time

John Cassimus


Special Teams Player of the Year Award

To the most valuable special teams player

Minkah Fitzpatrick, Adam Griffith, Dillon Lee, Bradley Sylve


Offensive Player of the Year Award  

To the most valuable offensive player

Derrick Henry, Ryan Kelly


Defensive Player of the Year Award  

To the most valuable defensive player

Reggie Ragland, Jarran Reed, A’Shawn Robinson


Most Valuable Player Award

To the overall most valuable player on the team (voted on by the players)  

Derrick Henry


Captain Awards     

To the players elected by their teammates as permanent team captains (voted on by the players)

Jake Coker, Derrick Henry, Ryan Kelly, Reggie Ragland

BamaMag Top Stories