Tide’s Henry, Ragland & Robinson Return To Atlanta In Search of Individual Hardware

ATLANTA, Ga. -- BamaMag spoke to Henry, Ragland and Robinson from the College Football Awards Wednesday.

Derrick Henry, Reggie Ragland and A'Shawn Robinson were all winners Saturday afternoon as the Crimson Tide defeated Florida for the 2015 Southeastern Conference Championship in the Georgia Dome.  The trio of all-star performers returned to Atlanta on Wednesday in anticipation of The Home Depot 25thAnniversary College Football Awards.

Henry is a contender for three prestigious honors – the Maxwell Award (presenter Danny Wuerffel) given to the College Player of the Year and the Doak Walker Award (presenter Eddie George) presented to the Nation’s Premier Running Back.  The third, Walter Camp Player of the Year, will be presented during the 5 PM CT ESPN edition of SportsCenter (interview above).  

Ragland is hoping to hear his name called for the Chuck Bednarik Award (presenter Dick Vermeil) given to the College Defensive Player of the Year.  

Robinson is a candidate for the Outland Trophy (presenter Ross Browner) signifying the Nation’s Most Outstanding Interior Lineman.  Each award has three finalists except the Walter Camp (five).  

A Red Carpet Special prior to the award ceremony is set to air on Thursday, December 10th on ESPNU at 5 PM CT.  The main event follows and will originate for the first time from the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta, to be broadcast on ESPN at 6 PM CT.

BamaMag Top Stories