Alabama football’s players of the week include members of scout team

Each week, Alabama announces players of the week for offense, defense and special teams, and players on the scout team also are recognized by Tide coaching staff

One of the staples of Alabama football season is the announcement on Mondays of the men who were players of the week in the previous game. But there is more to the story. The Bama coaches select players of the week for offense, defense, and special teams, which are announced. They also choose scout team players of the week.

The Alabama scout team is made up primarily of freshmen who are being redshirted and walk-ons, but it also includes several players who also see varsity duty but who are needed to help in preparation. It is tough duty. On Mondays, the scout team players get a “playbook” of sorts for the upcoming opponent and spend the week trying to give the first and second team Bama players a picture of what they will see on Saturdays.

Many of Alabama’s current star players began their careers as members of the Tide scout team, and many of those on this year’s scout team will be counted on in the future for Alabama.

Josh Frazier, a sophomore defensive lineman, saw duty almost every week during the season, but he was also prominent on the scout team, where he was a team-leading eight-time Scout Team Player of the Week.

A total of 50 players received at least one Scout Team Player of the Week honor.

Outside linebacker Anfernee Jennings and wide receiver Jonathan Rice had seven scout awards each. Defensive back Kendall Shepherd was a six-time honoree. Five-time scout players of the week were defensive back Bo Grant, linebacker Keaton Anderson, and linebacker Mekhi Brown.

Recognized four times each were defensive back Blaine Anderson, Josh Pugh, running back Lawrence Erekosima, and linebacker Jamey Mosley.

Three-time honorees were offensive lineman Richie Petitbon, quarterback Blake Barnett, offensive lineman Josh Casher, running back Xavian Marks, tight end Truett Harris, offensive lineman Brandon Moore, offensive lineman Isaac Luatua, tailback Bo Scarbrough, tight end David D’Amico, wide receiver Austin Johnson, offensive lineman Will Davis, defensive back Levi Wallace, Nathan Carter, linebacker Josh McMillon, and linebacker Adonis Thomas.

Named twice each were offensive lineman Matt Womack, defensive back Cedric Powell, Eastwood Thomas, defensive back Shawn Burgess-Becker, Donovan Mosley, wide receiver Thomas Woods, wide receiver Armani Purifoye, tight end Hunter Bryant, and quarterback David Cornwell.

Earning the honor once each were wide receiver JaMichael Willis, wide receiver-defensive back Deionte Thompson, Ty Turner, linebacker Christian Miller, linebacker Derrick Garnett, tight end-defensive lineman Johnny Dwight, running back Derrick Gore, Jace Green, running back Ronnie Clark, Avery Reid, offensive lineman Brandon Kennedy, wide receiver Derek Kief, defensive lineman Jake Long, Jacob Parker, and wide receiver Torin Marks.


BamaMag Top Stories