Alabama’s Derrick Henry takes Walter Camp, Doak Walker, Maxwell

ATLANTA, Ga. -- BamaMag was on hand at College Football Awards on Thursday night, where Derrick Henry swept three major awards.

Derrick Henry is on pace to become the most decorated Alabama football player in history.  Fittingly, he won three national awards Thursday at a location that someday may house his etched image in a blade of glass, the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta.

Henry is the first Crimson Tide player and the 49th recipient of the Walter Camp Player of the Year Award.  He is the seventh Southeastern Conference player to win the award including the running back whose single season rushing record he eclipsed, Herschel Walker of Georgia.  Established in 1967, votes are cast by the 129 Football Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors.

Henry follows Trent Richardson (2011) as the second Bama player to win the Doak Walker Award recognizing the nation’s premier running back.  First presented in 1990, he is the 26th recipient of the award.  The national selection committee is comprised of sportswriters, television commentators, analysts, radio sports personalities, and former All-America and NFL All-Pro football players.

The Maxwell Award signifying college football’s best player has been presented since 1937.  Henry, the 79th recipient, becomes the second Alabama representative to receive the award following quarterback A.J. McCarron in 2013.  Head football coaches, members of the Maxwell Club, sportscasters, and sportswriters are the voters. 

Teammates, center Ryan Kelly and linebacker Reggie Ragland, joined Henry on the 2015 Walter Camp Football Foundation All-America team, the 126th honored by the organization.  They were first team members.  Second team selections were defensive lineman A'Shawn Robinson and safety Eddie Jackson.  Earlier in the evening Kelly was awarded the Rimington Trophy honoring the best center in college football. Barrett Jones won in 2012.

BamaMag Top Stories